Appointments to Heritage Boards

(City Council on December 14, 15 and 16, 1999, adopted this Clause, without amendment.)

The Toronto Community Council recommends that:

- (1) Council appoint the following citizens to serve on the Toronto LACAC Panel for a term to begin January 1, 2000 and, despite Section 14 of By-law No. 795-1999, to expire on November 30, 2003, or until their successors are appointed: Marcia Cuthbert, Jon Harstone, Joan Miles, Nolan Natale, John Purdy, Steve Russell, Sharon Vattay, and Jim Wiswell;
- (2) Council appoint the following citizens to serve on the Colborne Lodge/Mackenzie House/Spadina Museum Management Board for a term to begin January 1, 2000 and, despite subsection 5(4) of By-law No. 793-1999, to expire on November 30, 2003, or until their successors are appointed: Andrea Bowker, Jennifer Duke, Maxanne Exer, Darlene Hall, D. L. Hedger, Ian McNeil, Loretta Ryan, Helen Skinner, and James Thompson;
- (3) future citizen appointments to these boards be for three-year terms coincident with the term of Council; and
- (4) the appropriate City Officials be authorized and directed to take the necessary action to give effect thereto.

The Toronto Community Council submits the following report (November 9, 1999) from the Commissioner Economic Development, Culture and Tourism:

Purpose:

To forward to Council recommendations for the appointment of citizens to the Toronto LACAC Panel and to the Colborne Lodge/Mackenzie House/ Spadina Museum Management Board.

Financial Implications and Impact Statement:

There are no financial implications resulting from the adoption of this report.

Recommendations:

It is recommended that:

(1) Council appoint the following citizens to serve on the Toronto LACAC Panel for a term to begin January 1, 2000 and to expire on November 30, 2003: Marcia Cuthbert, Jon Harstone, Joan Miles, Nolan Natale, John Purdy, Steve Russell, Sharon Vattay, and Jim Wiswell;

- (2) Council appoint the following citizens to serve on the Colborne Lodge/Mackenzie House/Spadina Museum Management Board for a term to begin January 1, 2000 and to expire on November 30, 2003: Andrea Bowker, Jennifer Duke, Maxanne Exer, Darlene Hall, D. L. Hedger, Ian McNeil, Loretta Ryan, Helen Skinner, and James Thompson;
- (3) future citizen appointments to these boards be for three-year terms coincident with the term of Council; and
- (4) the appropriate City Officials be authorized and directed to take the necessary action to give effect thereto.

Background:

At its meetings of December 16 and 17, 1998 and April 13, 14 and 15, 1999, City Council established a governance structure for the delivery of the City's heritage programs and services.

Council established a Toronto Preservation Board with six Community Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee (LACAC) Panels. Citizen appointments to the Toronto Preservation Board are to be nominated by the Economic Development and Parks Committee. Each Community Council will nominate the membership of the Community LACAC Panel in its jurisdiction.

Nine Community Museums Management Boards (CMMBs) were created. Citizen appointments for CMMBs for Fort York, The Pier and the Collections and Conservation Board are to be nominated by the Economic Development and Parks Committee. Each Community Council will nominate the membership of the CMMBs in its jurisdiction.

Council also established Heritage Toronto as an arm's length Board for advocacy, fundraising and city-wide programming. Citizen appointments to Heritage Toronto are to be nominated by the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

The By-laws required to formally establish these boards and panels will be brought forward by the City Solicitor to the meeting of Council to be held November 23, 24 and 25, 1999.

Comments:

At its meeting of December 16 and 17, 1998, Council approved a series of fundamental principles related to the governance of heritage services in the City. These include the prime importance of input from the local community; and the importance of sustaining, at the local community level, a partnership of professional staff and volunteers.

The new structure for heritage governance increases from nine to eighteen the number of citizen boards and panels involved in the delivery of heritage services in the new city. 105 to 133 citizens will be directly involved on the new boards. Attachment 1 identifies all of the new boards and panels and their composition.

To ensure as broad a participation as possible, applications were made available through existing boards and committees, were advertised in newspapers and on the City's website, and a public information session was held on August 30, 1999. 152 applications were received. Three citizen review panels were established to consider applications, conduct interviews and make recommendations to Economic Development and Parks Committee and Community Councils on the candidates best qualified to serve on the new boards. Staff of the Culture Office provided administrative support and participated in an advisory capacity. The full slate of recommended nominees developed by the review panels is contained in Attachment 2. A list of participants on the review panels is contained in Attachment 3.

Toronto Community Council is being asked to nominate citizens for appointment to the following: Toronto LACAC Panel, Colborne Lodge/Mackenzie House/Spadina Museum Management Board. The nomination slates being recommended for each board represent a full slate of nominees. The individuals being recommended by the review panels are well qualified and bring energy, knowledge and skill to the work of these new boards.

The review panels recommend the following nominees:

Toronto LACAC Panel Nominees:

Marcia Cuthbert	John Purdy
Jon Harstone	Steve Russell
Joan Miles	Sharon Vattay
Nolan Natale	Jim Wiswell

Colborne Lodge / Mackenzie House / Spadina Museum Management Board Nominees:

Andrea Bowker	Ian McNeil
Jennifer Duke	Loretta Ryan
Maxanne Exer	Helen Skinner
Darlene Hall	James Thompson
D.L. Hedger	_

Conclusions:

The appointment of these citizens to the newly established heritage boards allows the City to proceed with the implementation of its plan for a new partnership between the City's heritage staff and its citizen boards.

Contact:

Beth Hanna Manager of Cultural Affairs Telephone: 392-5225 FAX: 392-3355 e-mail: bhanna@mta1.metrodesk.metrotor.on.ca