THE CITY OF TORONTO

City Clerk's Division

Minutes of the Community Services Committee

Meeting No. 1

Tuesday, May 11, 1999

The Community Services Committee met on Tuesday, May 11, 1999, in the Council Chamber, City Hall, Toronto, to elect the Chair of the Committee for term of office commencing on June 14, 1999, and expiring on November 30, 2000.

The meeting commenced at 6:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Councillor Olivia Chow
Councillor Brad Duguid
Councillor Norm Gardner
Councillor Irene Jones
Councillor Norm Kelly
Councillor Chris Korwin-Kuczynski
Councillor Peter Li Preti
Councillor Joe Mihevc
Councillor Michael Prue
Councillor Michael Walker

The Deputy Mayor in the Chair.

1.1 Membership of the Community Services Committee.

City Council on May 11, 1999, by the adoption of Clause No. 1 of Report No. 6 of The Striking Committee, appointed the following Members of Council as Members of the Community Services Committee for the term of office commencing on June 14, 1999, and expiring on November 30, 2000, and until their successors are appointed, unless indicated otherwise, with the Mayor being an ex-officio voting Member of such Committee:

Councillor Olivia Chow Councillor Brad Duguid Councillor Norm Gardner Councillor Irene Jones Councillor Norm Kelly

Community Services Committee Minutes Tuesday, May 11, 1999

Councillor Chris Korwin-Kuczynski Councillor Peter Li Preti Councillor Joe Mihevc Councillor Michael Prue Councillor Michael Walker

(The Mayor is a Member ex-officio)

1.2 Election of Chair of the Committee.

The Deputy Mayor called for nominations for the office of Chair of the Community Services Committee for the term of office commencing June 14, 1999, and expiring November 30, 2000, and until a successor is appointed, unless indicated otherwise.

Councillor Walker moved that Councillor Prue be nominated as Chair of the Community Services Committee.

Councillor Jones moved that Councillor Duguid be nominated as Chair of the Community Services Committee.

The Deputy Mayor conducted a vote, resulting as follows:

For Councillor Prue: Councillors Prue and Walker

For Councillor Duguid: Councillors Chow, Duguid, Gardner, Jones,

Kelly, Korwin-Kuczynski, Li Preti and

Mihevc.

The Deputy Mayor declared Councillor Duguid duly elected as Chair of the Community Services Committee, having received a majority of the votes.

The Committee adjourned its meeting at 6:31 p.m.

| Chair. | | | |
|--------|--|--|--|