THE CITY OF TORONTO

City Clerk's Division

Minutes of the Economic Development and Parks Committee

Meeting No. 1

Tuesday, May 11, 1999

The Economic Development and Parks Committee met on Tuesday, May 11, 1999, in the Council Chamber, City Hall, Toronto, to elect the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee for term of office commencing on June 14, 1999, and expiring on November 30, 2000.

The meeting commenced at 6:30 p.m.

Members Present:

Councillor Brian Ashton Councillor Elizabeth Brown Councillor Raymond Cho Councillor Frank Faubert Councillor Mike Feldman Councillor Mario Giansante Councillor George Mammoliti Councillor Jane Pitfield Councillor Sherene Shaw Councillor Mario Silva Councillor Mike Tzekas

The Deputy Mayor in the Chair.

1.1 Membership of the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

City Council on May 11, 1999, by the adoption of Clause No. 1 of Report No. 6 of The Striking Committee, appointed the following Members of Council as Members of the Economic Development and Parks Committee for the term of office commencing on June 14, 1999, and expiring on November 30, 2000, and until their successors are appointed, unless indicated otherwise, with the Mayor being an ex-officio voting Member of such Committee:

Councillor Ashton Councillor Brown Councillor Cho Councillor Faubert Councillor Feldman Councillor Giansante Councillor King Councillor Mammoliti Councillor Pitfield Councillor Shaw Councillor Silva Councillor Tzekas

(The Mayor is a Member ex-officio)

1.2 Election of Chair of the Committee.

The Deputy Mayor called for nominations for the office of Chair and Vice-Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee for the term of office commencing June 14, 1999, and expiring November 30, 2000, and until a successor is appointed, unless indicated otherwise.

Councillor Giansante moved that Councillor Ashton be nominated as Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

There being no other nominations, the Deputy Mayor declared Councillor Ashton duly elected as Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

Councillor Ashton moved that Councillor Feldman be nominated as Vice-Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

Councillor Brown moved that Councillor Shaw be nominated as Vice-Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee.

The Deputy Mayor declared Councillor Feldman duly elected as Vice-Chair of the Economic Development and Parks Committee, having received a majority of the votes.

The Committee adjourned its meeting at 6:31 p.m.

Chair