



Certificate of Amendments

CITY COUNCIL INAUGURAL MEETING AGENDA

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2000

2:00 p.m.

COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL, TORONTO

Attendance at the December 5th session of Council is by invitation only

ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNCIL

O CANADA.

Sung by Ms Julie Martell, Sophie in the Toronto production of "Mamma Mia".

MOMENT OF SILENCE AND PERSONAL REFLECTION.

- **A. REPORT OF THE CITY CLERK** that she has declared the 2000 Municipal Election results, as to the persons elected and entitled to be Members of the Council of the City of Toronto.
- B. DECLARATION OF OFFICE AND OATH OF ALLEGIANCE BY THE MAYOR.

To be administered by the Honourable R. Roy McMurtry, Chief Justice of Ontario.

C. DECLARATIONS OF OFFICE AND OATHS OF ALLEGIANCE BY THE MEMBERS OF COUNCIL IN UNISON.

To be administered by the City Clerk, Novina Wong.

- **D. REPORT OF THE CITY CLERK** that she has in her possession the Declarations of Office taken by a sufficient number of the Members of Council, and that, therefore, the City of Toronto Council for the term commencing on December 1, 2000, is deemed to be organized.
- E. INTRODUCTION OF THE MEMBERS OF COUNCIL.
- F. REMARKS BY THE HONOURABLE R. ROY McMURTRY, CHIEF JUSTICE OF ONTARIO.
- G. INAUGURAL ADDRESS BY MAYOR MEL LASTMAN.
- H. INTRODUCTION OF BILL TO CONFIRM THE FIRST PORTION OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF COUNCIL AT THIS INAUGURAL MEETING.

COUNCIL RECESSES TO RECONVENE ON WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2000, AT 9:30 A.M., IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, TO CONSIDER THE APPOINTMENT OF THE STRIKING COMMITTEE.

Reception follows in the Rotunda.

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2000

COUNCIL RECONVENES AT 9:30 A.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER.

- I. APPOINTMENT OF THE STRIKING COMMITTEE.
- J. INTRODUCTION OF BILL TO CONFIRM THE SECOND PORTION OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF COUNCIL AT THIS INAUGURAL MEETING.

COUNCIL RECESSES TO PERMIT THE COMMUNITY COUNCILS TO MEET AND ELECT THEIR RESPECTIVE CHAIRS AND WILL RECONVENE ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2000, AT 9:30 A.M.

Community Councils will meet immediately following the recess of the Council meeting to elect Community Council Chairs:

Downtown Community CouncilNorth Community Council(Committee Room No. 2)(Committee Room No. 4)

East Community Council Southwest Community Council

(Committee Room No. 1) (Committee Room No. 3)

Midtown Community Council

(Committee Room R)

(Committee Room C)

 $(Committee\ Room\ B)$ $(Committee\ Room\ C)$

The Striking Committee will meet at 1:00 p.m. today in Committee Room No. 1 to consider appointments and a schedule of meetings for Council, the Standing Committees and the Community Councils.

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2000

COUNCIL RECONVENES AT 9:30 A.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER.

- K. COMMUNICATIONS.
- L. ENQUIRIES AND ANSWERS.

From Councillor Michael Walker:

- (i) (November 21, 2000) regarding the activities of a member of the Chief Administrative Officer's staff; and
- (ii) (November 22, 2000) respecting the City's funding contribution for Waterfront Redevelopment.
- M. PRESENTATION OF REPORT OF THE STRIKING COMMITTEE.
- N. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN THE REPORT OF THE STRIKING COMMITTEE.

Members of Council are requested to indicate the Clause number wherein they have an interest together with the nature of the interest.

O. CONSIDERATION OF REPORT OF THE STRIKING COMMITTEE.

Report to be considered

Report No. 1 of the Striking Committee.

- P. NOTICES OF MOTIONS.
- Q. INTRODUCTION AND CONSIDERATION OF BILLS.

- R. INTRODUCTION OF BILL TO CONFIRM THE LAST PORTION OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF COUNCIL AT THIS INAUGURAL MEETING.
- S. ADJOURNMENT.

O CANADA

O Canada! Our home and native land! True patriot love in all thy sons command. With glowing hearts we see thee rise, The True North, strong and free! From far and wide, O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

guard for thee. God keep our land glorious and free! O Canada, we stand on guard for thee. O Canada, we stand on guard for thee. O Canada! Terre de nos aïeux! Ton front est ceint de fleurons glorieux! Car ton bras sait porter l'épée, il sait porter la croix!

Ton histoire est une épopée Des plus brillants exploits.

Et ta valeur, de foi trempée, Protégera nos foyers et nos droits, Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.

THE CITY OF TORONTO 2000 – 2003 MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

MAYOR MEL LASTMAN

Councillor Suzan Hall Ward 1 – Etobicoke North

Councillor Rob Ford
Ward 2 – Etobicoke North

Councillor Doug Holyday Ward 3 – Etobicoke Centre

Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby Ward 4 – Etobicoke Centre

Councillor Peter Milczyn Ward 5 – Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Councillor Irene Jones Ward 6 – Etobicoke-Lakeshore

Councillor George Mammoliti Ward 7 – York West

> Councillor Peter LiPreti Ward 8 – York West

Councillor Maria Augimeri Ward 9 – York Centre

Councillor Mike Feldman Ward 10 – York Centre

Councillor Frances Nunziata Ward 11 – York South-Weston

Councillor Frank Di Giorgio Ward 12 – York South-Weston

Councillor David Miller Ward 13 – Parkdale-High Park

Councillor Chris Korwin-Kuczynski Ward 14 – Parkdale High Park

Councillor Howard Moscoe Ward 15 – Eglinton-Lawrence

Councillor Anne Johnston Ward 16 – Eglinton-Lawrence

Councillor Betty Disero

Ward 17 - Davenport

Councillor Mario Silva Ward 18 – Davenport

Councillor Joe Pantalone Ward 19 – Trinity-Spadina

Councillor Olivia Chow Ward 20 – Trinity-Spadina

Councillor Joe Mihevc Ward 21 – St. Paul's

Councillor Michael Walker Ward 22 – St. Paul's

Councillor John Filion Ward 23 – Willowdale

Councillor David Shiner Ward 24 – Willowdale

Councillor Joanne Flint Ward 25 – Don Valley West

Councillor Jane Pitfield Ward 26 – Don Valley West

Councillor Kyle Rae Ward 27 – Toronto Centre-Rosedale

Councillor Pam McConnell Ward 28– Toronto Centre-Rosedale

Councillor Case Ootes Ward 29 – Broadview-Greenwood

Councillor Jack Layton
Ward 30 – Broadview-Greenwood

Councillor Michael Prue Ward 31 – Beaches-East York

Councillor Sandra Bussin Ward 32 – Beaches-East York

Councillor Paul Sutherland Ward 33 – Don Valley East

Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong Ward 34 – Don Valley East

Councillor Gerry Altobello Ward 35 – Scarborough Southwest Councillor Brian Ashton Ward 36 – Scarborough Southwest

Councillor Lorenzo Berardinetti Ward 37 – Scarborough Centre

Councillor Brad Duguid Ward 38 – Scarborough Centre

Councillor Sherene Shaw Ward 39 – Scarborough-Agincourt

Councillor Norm Kelly Ward 40 – Scarborough-Agincourt

Councillor Bas Balkissoon Ward 41 – Scarborough-Rouge River

Councillor Raymond Cho Ward 42 – Scarborough-Rouge River

> Councillor David Soknacki Ward 43 – Scarborough East

Councillor Ron Moeser Ward 44 – Scarborough East