THE CITY OF TORONTO

Clerk's Department

Minutes of the Striking Committee

Meeting No. 2

Wednesday, January 14, 2004

The Striking Committee met on Wednesday, January 14, 2004, in Meeting Room B, 2nd Floor, City Hall, Toronto, commencing at 8:55 a.m.

Members Present:

Councillor J. Pantalone (Acting Chair)

Councillor S. Bussin

Councillor S. Carroll

Councillor G. Lindsay Luby

Councillor D. Soknacki

There were no declarations of interest pursuant to the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act.

2.1. Appointments of Members of Council to the Tenant Defence Sub-Committee

The Striking Committee had before it a communication (December 19, 2003) from Councillor Michael Walker (Ward 22 - St. Paul's) requesting the Striking Committee to consider appointments to the Tenant Defence Sub-Committee.

The Striking Committee also had before it Schedule 1, Members' Preferences for appointments to the Tenant Defence Sub-Committee.

On motion by Councillor Soknacki, the Striking Committee recommended to Council that:

(1) the following Councillors be appointed to the Tenant Defence Sub-Committee, should it be re-established by Council, for a term of office expiring May 31, 2005 and until successors are appointed:

S. Carroll

C. Jenkins

Striking Committee Minutes Wednesday, January 14, 2004

- G. Lindsay Luby
- P. Li Preti
- P. McConnell
- J. Pitfield
- M. Walker
- S. Watson; and
- (2) the appropriate City officials be authorized and directed to take any necessary action to give effect thereto.

(Clause No. 1, Report No. 2)

2.2. Appointment of a Member of Council to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) National Board of Directors

The Striking Committee had before it a report (January 7, 2004) from the City Clerk recommending that:

- (1) City Council appoint a Member of Council to replace former Councillor Sherene Shaw on the FCM National Board of Directors for the remainder of the current term of office to expire on May 31, 2004;
- (2) the process for appointing Members of Council to the two positions on the FCM National Board of Directors; which are reserved for Toronto, be regularized by using the Striking Committee process, beginning with the appointments for the term of office commencing May 31, 2004; and
- (3) the appropriate City Officials be authorized and directed to take the necessary action to give effect thereto.

The Striking Committee also had before it Schedule 1, Members' Preferences for appointment to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) National Board of Directors.

On motion by Councillor Soknacki, the Striking Committee recommended to Council that:

(1) the following Member be appointed to replace former Councillor Sherene Shaw on the FCM National Board of Directors for the remainder of the current term of office to expire on May 31, 2004:

B. Ashton;

Striking Committee Minutes Wednesday, January 14, 2004

- the process for appointing Members of Council to the two positions on the FCM National Board of Directors, which are reserved for Toronto, be regularized by using the Striking Committee process, beginning with the appointments for the term of office commencing May 31, 2004; and
- (3) the appropriate City officials be authorized and directed to take the necessary action to give effect thereto.

(Clause No. 2, Report No. 2)

The Committee adjourned its meeting at 8:58 a.m.

Acting Chair.