THE CITY OF TORONTO

City Clerk's Office

Minutes of the Joint Meeting of the Policy and Finance Committee and the Budget Advisory Committee

Meeting No. 11

Monday, February 7, 2005

The Policy and Finance Committee and the Budget Advisory Committee met jointly on Monday, February 7, 2005, in the Council Chamber, City Hall, Toronto, commencing at 9:40 a.m.

Members Present:

Members were present for some or all of the time period indicated.

	9:40 a.m. to 12:33 p.m	2:15 p.m. – 5:07 p.m.
Mayor David Miller	X	X
Councillor David Soknacki, Chair	X	X
Councillor Maria Augimeri	X	X
Deputy Mayor Sandra Bussin	X	X
Councillor Shelley Carroll	X	X
Councillor Gay Cowbourne	X	X
Councillor Mark Grimes	X	X
Councillor Pam McConnell	X	X
Councillor Joe Mihevc	X	X
Councillor Peter Milczyn	X	X
Councillor Howard Moscoe	X	R
Deputy Mayor Joe Pantalone	X	X
Councillor Jane Pitfield	X	X
Councillor Kyle Rae	X	X
Councillor Sylvia Watson	X	X

Policy and Finance Committee and Budget Advisory Committee Minutes Monday, February 7, 2005

Also Present:

Councillor Brian Ashton	Councillor Doug Holyday
Councillor Olivia Chow	Councillor David Shiner
Councillor Janet Davis	Councillor Karen Stintz
Councillor Paula Fletcher	

11.1 Deputations on the 2005 Capital and Operating Budgets

The Policy and Finance Committee and the Budget Advisory Committee met jointly to hear speakers on the 2005 Capital and Operating Budgets.

The following persons appeared before the Policy and Finance Committee and the Budget Advisory Committee:

- Judith Andrew, Vice President, Canadian Federation of Independent Business;
- David G. Fleet and Phil Giller, Toronto Office Coalition, c/o Poole Milligan LLP, Barristers and Solicitors; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Allan Kasperski, Fieldsports; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Glen Grunwald, President and CEO, Toronto Board of Trade; and filed a copy of his submission;
- S. Michael Brooks, Executive Director, Canadian Institute of Public and Private Real Estate Companies; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Eva Ligeti, Executive Director, Clean Air Partnership; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Helen Lai-Man Poon, Executive Director, Chinese Canadian National Council Toronto Chapter; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Kevin Lee, Executive Director, Scadding Court Community Centre; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Shahina Sayani, For Youth Initiatives and Valerie Mitchell; and filed a copy of their submission;
- Robert Lamb, Canadian Opera Company and Kevin Garland, The National Ballet of Canada also on behalf of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, The Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art and the The National Ballet School;
- Jerry Smith, Director, Lakeshore Arts;
- Lilita Tannis, Executive Director, UrbanArts, Community Arts Council;
- Carl Sprogis, Chair, Arts Etobicoke; and presented a four-minute video;
- Karin Eaton, Executive Director, Scarborough Arts Council;
- William Duron, CEO, Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, National Trade Centre, Exhibition Place; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Richard Christie, Toronto District School Board;
- Janet McKay, Executive Director, LEAF;
- Fiona Nelson:

Policy and Finance Committee and Budget Advisory Committee Minutes Monday, February 7, 2005

- Ann Fitzpatrick, Housing Action Now; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Frank Chester, Pride Toronto; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Brad Butt, Executive Director, Greater Toronto Apartment Association; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Todd Irvine, Toronto Public Space Committee;
- Tasha Kheiriddin, Director, Canadian Taxpayers Federation; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Faye Lyons, Government Relations Specialist, Canadian Auto Association; a filed a copy of her submission;
- Albert Veira, Board Member, LAMP CHC; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Susan Zalepa, Swansea Memorial Library Friends; and filed a copy of her submission and a 23 page petition signed by members of the community asking for additional opening hours for the Swansea Library;
- Janice Juman, Chris Cassidy, and Mary Grace Lacap, Youthlink;
- Helen Armstrong, Program Coordinator, LAMP Community Health Centre and Eticoke Lakeshore Housing Task Force; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Ed Castro, Co-Chair, Scarborough Civic Action Network;
- Seema Opal, Alliance for South Asian AIDS Prevention;
- Jeff Brown, Sierra Club of Canada; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Lewis Beasley;
- Lela Gary, c/o Air Pollution Coalition; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Joy Hughes, Cedar Ridge Studio Gallery;
- Michael Rosenberg; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Lyle Hall, Chair, Tourism Toronto; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Julie Beddoes, External Vice President, Gooderham & Worts Neighbourhood Association; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Richmond Ansu, Toronto Youth Cabinet; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Dan Wigglesworth; and e-mailed a copy of his submission;
- Joan Doiron, Better Transportation Coalition; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Siva Kandiah, President, Blue Ribbon Child Care Society;
- Susan Preston, Board of Directors, OASW Central Ontario Branch; and e-mailed a copy of her submission;
- Malston Anderson and Michaelann George, Black Coalition for AIDS Prevention;
- Ann Egger, Registered Nurse, Regent Park Community Health Centre; and filed a copy of their submission;
- John Cartwright, President, Toronto and Region Labour Council; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Gord Perks, Senior Campaigner, Toronto Environmental Alliance;
- Martin Koob, Member, Toronto Bicycling Network; and e-mailed a copy of his submission:
- Marilyn Roy, Harbourfront Community Centre; and filed a copy of her submission;
- Chistopher Ridabock, Director, Greater Toronto Marketing Alliance; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Howard Watson, Chair of Housing, Metro Chapter, Canadian Pensioners Concerned; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Alejandra Bravo, Chair, St. Clair West Village Residents' Association;

Policy and Finance Committee and Budget Advisory Committee Minutes Monday, February 7, 2005

- David White, Front and Centre, Spokesperson; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Hamish Wilson; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Bill Guthrie, Vice President, Toronto Civic Employees Union Local 416; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Michael Shapcott, Toronto Disaster Relief Committee; and filed a copy of his submission:
- Michelle Adams and Sophia Luguya, AWARE Project;
- Russ Ford, The Toronto Neighbourhood Centres; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Ryan Hayes, Stefany Hanson, Paul Lewkowicz and Adam Chaleff-Freudenthaler, Toronto Youth Cabinet; and filed a copy of their submission;
- John Campey, Executive Director, Community Social Planning Council for Toronto; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Sharon Howarth;
- Bob Gerard, Treasurer, Canadian Condominium Institute; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Ian Wheal, Director, Black Creek Conservation Project; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Raymond Micah, Executive Director, African Canadian Social Development Council;
- Robert Eisenberg, Liberty Village BIA; and filed a copy of his submission;
- Tony Jno Baptiste, East Scarborough Boys & Girls Club; and filed a copy of his submission; and
- Michael Noble.

Councillor Soknacki appointed Councillor Miheve Acting Chair and vacated the Chair.

On motion by Councillor Soknacki, the Budget Advisory Committee received the speakers.

Councillor Soknacki resumed the Chair.

(Policy and Finance Committee - February 7, 2005)

The Policy and Finance Committee and the Budget Advisory Committee adjourned its joint meeting at 5:07 p.m.

Chair	