Authority: Planning and Growth Management Committee Item 34.6, as adopted by City of Toronto Council on January 26 and 27, 2010 Enacted by Council: January 27, 2010

## CITY OF TORONTO

## **BY-LAW No. 131-2010**

# To amend By-law No. 131-2004 to revise the list of persons appointed as inspectors for enforcement of the *Building Code Act*, 1992.

WHEREAS section 3 of the *Building Code Act, 1992* (the "Act") provides that the council of the municipality shall appoint such inspectors as are necessary for the enforcement of the Act in the areas in which the municipality has jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS City Council enacted By-law No. 131-2004 to harmonize by-laws of the former municipalities appointing building inspectors and to continue the appointment of persons so appointed and for rescinding the appointment of persons no longer employed by the City of Toronto as an inspector enforcing the Act; and

WHEREAS subsection 15.11 (3) of the Act provides that a person is not eligible to be appointed as an inspector under the Act unless he or she has the qualifications set out in the building code for the position; and

WHEREAS the Chief Building Official has recommended that the persons whose names appear in the list attached as Schedule A to this by-law by added or deleted as inspectors under By-law No. 131-2004; and

WHEREAS the persons whose names appear in Schedule A to be added as inspectors are qualified to be inspectors under the Act; and

WHEREAS the persons whose names appear in Schedule A to be deleted as inspectors are no longer employed by the City of Toronto as an inspector enforcing the Act; and

WHEREAS it is necessary to revise and update Schedule A and Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004 accordingly;

The Council of the City of Toronto HEREBY ENACTS as follows:

- 1. The persons listed in Schedule A to this by-law to be added as inspectors in Schedule A of By-law 131-2004 are hereby appointed as inspectors to enforce the Act within the jurisdiction of the City of Toronto, and Schedule A of By-law No. 131-2004 is amended accordingly.
- 2. The persons listed in Schedule A to this by-law to be deleted as inspectors in Schedule A of By-law No. 131-2004 hereby cease to be appointed as inspectors to enforce the Act within the jurisdiction of the City of Toronto, and Schedule A of By-law No. 131-2004 is amended accordingly.

- **3.** The persons listed in Schedule A to this by-law to be added as inspectors in Schedule B of By-law 131-2004 are hereby appointed as inspectors to enforce the Act within the jurisdiction of the City of Toronto, and Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004 is amended accordingly.
- **4.** The persons listed in Schedule A to this by-law to be deleted as inspectors in Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004 hereby cease to be appointed as inspectors to enforce the Act within the jurisdiction of the City of Toronto, and Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004 is amended accordingly.

ENACTED AND PASSED this 27th day of January, A.D. 2010.

SANDRA BUSSIN, Speaker ULLI S. WATKISS City Clerk

(Corporate Seal)

#### **SCHEDULE A**

#### Names to be added to Schedule A of By-law No. 131-2004:

Edward Ambridge Michele Argiro Victor Attalla Frederick Bergen Barry Brown Franco Colalillo Michael Coroiu Tony D'Arpino Vincent De Francesca Paul G. De Sousa Stephen N. Frost Roberto Furgiuele Lynn Gaito Vito Gambino Tom Greco Surendra Gupta Kasper Hinds Samir Hinnawi Nathaniel Honculada Pat Iacoucci Yang Jin Brian D. Lambourn Tung-Chen Lin Magged Matter Giorgio Polsinelli Paul Posluszny Daryl Pullen Rachel Purdy Christopher Rygiel Sam Sarkosh Major Singh Christopher Soczek Mark D. Sraga Gabriela Vitta Alex Weick Darryl Witte Hong Yu Barbara Zacharias

# Names to be deleted from Schedule A of By-law No. 131-2004:

Bruce Ashton Donald Butwell Glenn Gilliland Michael Giulioni Rachel Grant Wayne Hayes Gabriela Levrero Danyal Musabay Archie Papanicolas **Robin Parnell** Joseph Pernal Richard Quigley Joseph Sieber James Smith Seyed Hossein Tahami Sait Toprak Eric Tsotsos Eli Yunger

### List of Names to be added to Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004

Mark D. Sraga

## List of Names to be deleted from Schedule B of By-law No. 131-2004

Richard Quigley James Smith