Authority: MM19.42, moved by Councillor David Shiner, seconded by Councillor Chin Lee,

as adopted by City of Toronto Council on June 7, 8 and 9, 2016

## **CITY OF TORONTO**

## BY-LAW No. 588-2016

## To amend By-law No. 226-1998 to appoint Diane Elizabeth Damiano as Deputy Chief Building Official.

Whereas subsection 3(2) of the *Building Code Act, 1992*, S.O. 1992, c.23, as amended requires the council of each municipality to appoint a Chief Building Official; and

Whereas under section 77 of the *Legislation Act*, 2006, S.O. 2006, c. 21, as amended, the power to appoint a person to a public office includes the power to remove the person and the power to appoint a deputy with the same powers as the holder of the office, subject to specified conditions, or with limited powers as specified; and

Whereas under section 67 of the *Legislation Act*, 2006, S.O. 2006, c. 21, as amended, words in the singular include the plural; and

Whereas By-law No. 226-1998 appointed a Chief Building Official for the City of Toronto and, on an interim basis, certain Deputy Chief Building Officials; and

Whereas By-law No. 10-1999 amended By-law No. 226-1998, appointing certain Deputy Chief Building Officials on a permanent basis; and

Whereas By-law No. 137-2009 amended By-law No. 10-1999 by deleting subsection 3(2) of By-law No. 10-1999 and replacing it with the following new subsection 3(2): "Each Deputy Chief Building Official named in this By-law has all of the powers and duties of the Chief Building Official within the area of the City of Toronto assigned by the Chief Building Official."; and

Whereas John Franklin Heggie has retired and is no longer employed in the Toronto Building division of the City of Toronto; and

Whereas Council wishes to appoint Diane Elizabeth Damiano as Deputy Chief Building Official;

The Council of the City of Toronto enacts:

- 1. Subsection 3(1) of By-law No. 226-1998, as amended, is further amended by deleting the name "John Franklin Heggie" and substituting the name "Diane Elizabeth Damiano".
- **2.** This by-law comes into force immediately.

Enacted and passed on June 9, 2016.

Frances Nunziata, Speaker

Ulli S. Watkiss, City Clerk

(Seal of the City)