Rosanna Scotti Director

Mark Bekkering Tel: 416-392-8556

Fax: 416-696-3645 mbekker@toronto.ca

Strategic & Corporate Policy Healthy City Office 100 Queen Street West City Hall, 11th Floor, East Tower

Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

March 12, 2007

Chair, North York Community Council c/o Francine Adamo, Committee Administrator North York Civic Centre 5100 Yonge Street

Re: Nominees for the City Board for North Toronto Memorial Arena

In accordance with the Civic Appointments Policy, the City Board for North Toronto Arena has put forth through me, the following residents of the City of Toronto for appointment to the City Board for North Toronto Arena for a term expiring at the end of this term of Council:

- Mr. Tim Aikenhead:
- Ms. Gillian Jagasia;
- Ms. Nancy Smith;
- Mr. Richard Parker;
- Ms. Nora Versteeg;
- Mr. Crawford Spratt; and
- Mr. Gordon Thompson.

Please make arrangements for these nominees to be considered for appointment by the North York Community Council.

The North Toronto Memorial Arena has been operated by a Board of Management since it was established in 1965. Chapter 25 of the former City of Toronto Municipal Code which governs appointments to the North Toronto Memorial Arena Board states that the Board shall be composed of seven citizens appointed by Council and two Councillors. Of those seven citizen appointees, Chapter 25 states that the following groups can nominate one person for consideration by Council: the North Toronto Skating Club; the North Toronto Hockey Association; and an adjacent ratepayers' association. Ms. Smith is the nominee for the Skating Club, Mr. Aikenhead is the nominee for the Hockey Association and Ms. Jagasia is the nominee of the ratepayers' association.

Thank You,

Mark Bekkering Senior Management Consultant (Governance Liaison for Board operated Arenas)

CC: Helen Smith, Manager, Secretariat, City Clerk's Office Peter Fay, Director, Secretariat, City Clerk's Office