

STAFF REPORT ACTION REQUIRED

Beach, Bloor-Yorkville, Danforth Village, Parkdale Village and Riverside District Business Improvement Areas (BIAs) Board of Management Additions and Deletions

Date:	August 23, 2007
To:	Toronto and East York Community Council
From:	Mike Major, Acting Director Small Business & Local Partnerships
Wards:	14, 27, 30, 31 and 32
Reference Number:	

SUMMARY

The purpose of this report is to recommend Toronto and East York Community Council approve deletions and additions to the Beach, Bloor-Yorkville, Danforth Village, Parkdale Village and Riverside District BIAs Boards of Managements. The Toronto and East York Community Council has the delegated authority to make final decisions regarding BIA appointments.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Acting Director of Small Business & Local Partnerships recommends that:

- 1. Toronto and East York Community Council approve the deletions and additions to the Beach, Bloor -Yorkville, Danforth Village, Parkdale Village and Riverside District BIAs Boards of Management as set out in Attachment No. 1.
- 2. Schedule A of the Municipal Code Chapter 19, Business Improvement Areas, be amended to reflect the changes to the BIA Boards of Management.

Financial Impact

There are no financial implications resulting from the adoption of this report.

ISSUE BACKGROUND

From time to time, it is necessary to remove BIA Board of Management members who are no longer able to serve, add new members to fill vacant positions, and revise the size of BIA Boards and the number required for quorum as set out in Chapter 19 of the City of Toronto Municipal Code.

COMMENTS

The Beach, Bloor -Yorkville, Danforth Village, Parkdale Village and Riverside District BIAs are governed by the Toronto and East York Community Council.

The resignation of four members and the addition of one member to the Beach BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members to 10 on the Board and a new quorum of 5 members.

The resignation of two members and the addition of two members to the Bloor – Yorkville BIA Board of Management will not require any changes to the number of members on the Board or quorum.

The resignation of four members from the Danforth Village BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members to 16 on the Board and the quorum will remain at 6 members.

The resignation of one member and the addition of two members to the Parkdale Village BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members to 16 on the Board and a new quorum of 8 members.

The resignation of two members from the Riverside District BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members to 10 on the Board and a new quorum of 5 members.

The recommended BIA Board of Management additions and deletions necessitate amendments to the City of Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 19, Business Improvement Areas, as set out in Attachment No. 1, to reflect changes in the number of Board members and the number of members required for quorum.

CONTACT

Mike Major, Acting Director Small Business & Local Partnerships

Telephone: 416-392-0623 Fax: 416-392-1380

Email: mmajor@toronto.ca

SIGNATURE

Mike Major Acting Director, Small Business & Local Partnerships

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment No. 1 – Board of Management Additions and Deletions

Attachment No. 1

Board of Management Additions and Deletions

Beach BIA		
Deletions:	No. of Members: 10 (including 1 councillor) Quorum: 5	
Mr. Neil Macdonald Mr. Mario Lamanna Mr. Tony Karabetsos Mr. Joe Abbinante	Quorum: 3	
Additions:		
Mr. Lee Welbanks		
Bloor- Yorkville BIA		
Deletions:	No. of Members: 18 (including 1 councillor) Quorum: 9	
Mr. Scott Harris Mr. John Velina		
Additions:		
Ms. Tom Capisciollo Ms. Michael Ward		
Danforth Village		
Deletions:	No. of Members: 16 (including 2 councillors)	
Mr. Jeevan Ratnam Ms. Veronica DeSantos Mr. Douglas A. Gray Mr. Dmitri Nistas	Quorum: 6	
Parkdale Village		
Deletions:	No. of Members: 16 (including 1 councillor)	
Mr. James Appleton	Quorum: 8	

Additions:

Mrs. Melanie Talbot Mr. Barry Hubick

Riverside District

Deletions: No. of Members: 10 (including 1 councillor)

Quorum: 5

Mrs. Stephanie Matheson Mr. Rod McDonald