

## Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Councillor Maria Augimeri Councillor Sandra Bussin Councillor Shelley Carroll Councillor Janet Davis Councillor Paula Fletcher Councillor Suzan Hall
Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby
Councillor Pam McConnell
Councillor Frances Nunziata
Councillor Karen Stintz

August 5, 2008.

To: Executive Committee

From: Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Subject: 2008 Recipients – Constance E. Hamilton Award

## **Recommendation:**

That Toronto City Council confirm the selections made by the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee comprised of the Women Members of Council that **Deena Ladd** and **Heather McGregor** be the recipients of the 2008 Constance E. Hamilton Award.

## **Summary:**

The Constance E. Hamilton Award is named after the first woman elected in 1920 to a municipal council in Toronto. The Award was established in 1979 to celebrate the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Person's Case which recognized that women were "persons" and could be appointed to the Senate of Canada.

The Constance E Hamilton Award recognizes person(s) who have made a significant contribution to improving the social, economic, cultural and political status of women in Toronto. The recipients are selected by the Women Members of Council.

The Selection Committee has reviewed the nominations submitted by the public. The 2007 recipients who have been selected for their contributions toward improving the status of women in Toronto are:

Deena Ladd – for advocacy on behalf of marginalized workers; and Heather McGregor – for leadership and advocacy within the voluntary sector.

The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented during the City's Annual Human Rights Ceremony scheduled for November 27, 2008 at which the following awards will also be presented: Aboriginal Affairs Award, the Access Award on Disability Issues, the Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two Spirited Issues and the William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award.

Councillor Pam McConnell
On behalf of the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee