DA TORONTO



Agnes Macphail	September 17, 2008
Recognition Committee	Councillor Janet Davis Ward 31
Recipients of the	Beaches-East York
Agnes Macphail Award	Re: Terms of Reference for the Community Selection Committee of the Agnes Macphail Award
<i>J. Edna Beange 1994</i>	Dear Councillor Davis,
Eileen Morris Adams 1995	I believe that the last time the Terms of Reference for the Community Selection Committee of the Agnes Macphail Award were changed was at a meeting of the City
<i>Marjorie Lewsey 1996</i>	of Toronto Council on June 9, 10 and 11, 1999. The terms were changed because of the changes in the provincial and federal riding boundaries.
<i>Ruth Goldhar 1997</i>	The Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee would request a change at this time to delete from the Selection Committee:
<i>Elisabeth and Robert Lister 1998</i>	a) one East York citizen who is a current or former member of a Council- appointed board or committee – to be appointed by the East York Community Council
Barbara Thompson 1999	b) one former member of the Borough of East York Council – to be appointed by the East York Community Council
<i>Audrey Tobias 2000</i>	The rationale for deleting these two positions is that there are now sufficient former recipients of the Award, who are members of the Selection Committee, to provide the
<i>Grace Stephens 2001</i>	range of voices and opinions looked for at such a meeting.
<i>Bob Hart 2002</i>	In addition, we would recomment that the name for this committee to revised to be the Agnes Macphail Recipient Selection Committee.
<i>Dorothy Rivers-Moore 2003</i>	This issues has been discussed at meetings of the Agnes Macphail Recognition
Vi Thompson 2004	Committee, and we agree that there doesn't appear to be added value for this one meeting of the Selection Committee to have this additional representation.
<i>George Hurst 2005</i>	Thank you for your support in bringing this issue before Council.
Shamsh Kara 2006	Yours truly,
Lorna Krawchuk 2007	Lorna Krawchuk Lorna Krawchuk
<i>Geoff Kettel 2008</i>	Chair

"Think globally, act locally."

Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee λ c/o Councillor Janet Davis' Office λ 850 Coxwell Avenue λ East York, ON λ M4C 5R1 Phone: 416-392-4035 λ Fax: 416-397-9289