Etobicoke York Community Council

Meeting No. 22 (Special) Contact Glenda Jagai, Committee

Administrator

Meeting Date Tuesday, December 2, 2008 Phone 416-394-2516

Start Time 12:30 PM E-mail etcc@toronto.ca

Location Committee Room 1, City Hall

Attendance

Members of the Etobicoke York Community Council were present for some or all of the time periods indicated under the section headed "Meeting Sessions", which appears at the end of the Minutes.

Councillor Frances Nunziata, Chair	X
Councillor Suzan Hall, Vice-Chair	X
Councillor Frank DiGiorgio	X
Councillor Rob Ford	X
Councillor Mark Grimes	X
Councillor Doug Holyday	X
Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby	X
Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti	X
Councillor Peter Milczyn	X
Councillor Cesar Palacio	X
Councillor Bill Saundercook	X

EY22.1	ACTION	Adopted	Delegated	Ward: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 17
--------	--------	---------	-----------	---

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Committee Decision

The Etobicoke York Community Council:

- 1. Elected Councillor Nunziata as Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.
- 2. Elected Councillor Hall as Vice-Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

Decision Advice and Other Information

The Etobicoke York Community Council convened a Special Meeting to elect a Chair and Vice Chair for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

Councillor Nunziata in the Chair.

The City Clerk advised the members of the Etobicoke York Community Council that City Council will be considering later today, Executive Committee Item EX26.25, Removing the Restriction on Chairs of Community Councils and Special Committees Serving Consecutive Half-Terms, amending Municipal Code Chapter 27, Council Procedures.

The Etobicoke York Community Council recessed its meeting at 12:35 p.m.

The Etobicoke York Community Council reconvened its special meeting at 7:15 p.m.

The City Clerk assumed the Chair and called for nominations for the office of Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council.

Councillor Hall nominated Councillor Nunziata as Chair.

There were no further nominations.

The Etobicoke York Community Council elected Councillor Nunziata as Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

The City Clerk called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council.

Councillor Ford nominated Councillor Hall as Vice Chair.

Councillor Milczyn nominated Councillor Palacio as Vice Chair.

There were no further nominations.

Councillor Hall received 4 votes, being the majority vote of members present.

The Etobicoke York Community Council elected Councillor Hall as Vice-Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

The Etobicoke York Community Council adjourned its special meeting at 7:17 p.m.

Summary

Election of Chair and Vice Chair for the Etobicoke York Community Council from January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

Motions

Motion to Nominate a Member moved by Councillor Rob Ford (Carried)
That Councillor Hall be nominated as Vice Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council
for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

Motion to Nominate a Member moved by Councillor Suzan Hall (Carried)
That Councillor Nunziata be nominated as Chair of the Etobicoke York Community Council
for the term of office starting January 1, 2009 until November 30, 2010.

			Chair

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Meeting Sessions

Session Date	Session Type	Start Time	End Time	Public or Closed Session
2008-12-02	Afternoon	12:30 PM	12:35 PM	Public
2008-12-02	Evening	7:15 PM	7:20 PM	Public

Attendance

Date and Time	Quorum	Members
2008-12-02 12:30 PM - 12:35 PM (Public Session)		Present: Di Giorgio, Ford, Grimes, Hall, Holyday, Lindsay Luby, Mammoliti, Milczyn, Nunziata, Palacio, Saundercook
2008-12-02 7:15 PM - 7:20 PM (Public Session)	Present	Present: Di Giorgio, Ford, Hall, Holyday, Lindsay Luby, Milczyn, Nunziata Not Present: Grimes, Mammoliti, Palacio, Saundercook