

STAFF REPORT ACTION REQUIRED

Yonge-Lawrence Business Improvement Area (BIA) Board of Management Additions and Deletions

Date:	May 15, 2008
To:	North York Community Council
From:	Director, Small Business & Local Partnerships
Wards:	16 & 25
Reference Number:	

SUMMARY

The purpose of this report is to recommend that the North York Community Council approve the addition and deletion of members to the Yonge-Lawrence BIA Board of Management. The North York Community Council has the delegated authority to make final decisions regarding BIA appointments.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Director of Small Business & Local Partnerships recommends that:

- 1. North York Community Council approve the deletion from and the addition to the Yonge-Lawrence BIA Board of Management as set out in Attachment No.1
- 2. Schedule A of the Municipal Code Chapter 19, Business Improvement Areas, be amended to reflect the changes to the BIA Boards of Management.

FINANCIAL IMPACT

There are no financial implications resulting from the adoption of this report.

ISSUE BACKGROUND

From time to time, it is necessary to remove BIA Board of Management members who are no longer able to serve, add new members to fill vacant positions, and revise the size of BIA Boards and the number required for quorum as set out in Chapter 19 of the City of Toronto Municipal Code.

COMMENTS

The Yonge-Lawrence BIA is governed by the North York Community Council.

The addition of one member to and the deletion of an existing member from the Yonge-Lawrence BIA Board of Management will require no change to the Board of Management size and the quorum will remain the same.

CONTACT

Mike Major, Manager Business Improvement Area Office

Telephone: 416-392-0623 Fax: 416-392-1380

Email: mmajor@toronto.ca

SIGNATURE

Eva Pyatt Director, Small Business & Local Partnerships

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment No.1- Board of Management Additions and Deletions

Attachment No.1

Yonge-Lawrence BIA

Addition:

Mr. Clifford Waxman

Deletion:

Ms. Ni No Wong

Number of Board members will remain unchanged (including councillors).