

STAFF REPORT ACTION REQUIRED

Dundas-Bathurst, Dundas Ossington, Danforth Village, Greektown on the Danforth, Old Cabbagetown and Riverside District Business Improvement Areas (BIAs) Boards of Management Additions and Deletions

Date:	December 18, 2007
To:	Toronto East York Community Council
From:	Mike Major, Acting Director Small Business & Local Partnerships
Wards:	18,19,28,29,30,31 and 32
Reference Number:	

SUMMARY

The purpose of this report is to recommend Toronto East York Community Council approve deletions and additions to the Dundas-Bathurst, Dundas-Ossington, Danforth Village, Greektown on the Danforth, Old Cabbagetown and Riverside District BIA Boards of Managements. The Toronto East York Community Council has delegated authority to make final decisions regarding BIA appointments.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Acting Director of Small Business & Local Partnership recommends that:

- 1. Toronto East York Community Council approve the deletions and additions to the Dundas-Bathurst, Dundas-Ossinginton, Danforth Village, Greektown on the Danforth, Old Cabbagetown and Riverside District BIA Boards of Management as set out in Attachment No.1.
- 2. Schedule A of the Municipal Code Chapter 19, Business Improvement Areas, be amended to reflect the changes to the BIA Boards of Management.

Financial Impact

There are no financial implications resulting from the adoption of this report.

ISSUE BACKGROUND

From time to time, it is necessary to remove the BIA Board of Management members who are no longer able to serve, add new members to fill vacant positions, and revise the size of BIA Boards and the number required for quorum as set out in Chapter 19 of the City of Toronto Municipal Code.

COMMENTS

The Dundas-Bathurst, Dundas-Ossington, Danforth Village, Greektown on the Danforth, Old Cabbagetown and Riverside District BIAs are governed by the Toronto East York Community Council.

The Dundas- Bathurst BIA held their first Annual General Meeting on November 28, 2007 and nominated 12 members plus the local Councillor to their Board of Management and a quorum of 7.

The Dundas-Ossington BIA held their first Annual General Meeting on November 29, 2007 and nominated 15 members plus the local Councillor's to their Board of Management and a quorum of 8.

The resignation of five members and the addition of two members to the Danforth Village BIA Board of management will require a change to the number of members on the Board to 13 and a new quorum of 5.

The resignation of one member to the Greektown on the Danforth BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members on the Board to 14 and the quorum will remain the same.

The resignation of three members and the addition of one member to the Old Cabbagetown BIA Board of Management will require a change to the number of members on the Board to 14 and a new quorum of 7.

The resignation of one member and the addition of one member to the Riverside District BIA Board of management will not require any changes to the number of members on the Board of quorum.

.

CONTACT

Mike Major, Acting Director Small Business & Local Partnerships

Telephone: 416-392-0623

Fax: 416-392-1380

Email: mmajor@toronto.ca

SIGNATURE

Mike Major Acting Director, Small Business & Local Partnerships

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment No.1- Board of Management Additions and Deletions.

Attachment No.1

Dundas-Bathurst

Additions:

Mr. Paul Smith

Ms. Paola DiSanto

Mr. Renato Silva

Ms. Angela Costa

Ms. Kim DeMedeiros

Ms. Amy Fleishum

Ms. Kim Bui

Mr. Oswald Ferreira

Ms. Julie Nicholson

Mrs. Kia Waese

Mr. Jerry Waese

Mr. Jonathan Tran

No. Of Board Members remain at 13(including Councillor)

Dundas-Ossington

Additions:

Mr. Stephen Fowler

Mr. Bento Martins

Mr. Gino Gallo

Mr. Bon Falcone

Mr. Armindo C. Silva

Mr. Oliver Ruivo

Mr. Honorato Ferreira

Mr. Jose Morais

Mr. Lu Amaral

Ms. Gabriela Cavaco

Mr. Gil DaCosta

Mr. Tan Tran

Mr. Wil Kucey

Mrs. Barbara Carvalho

Mr. Marten Sluyter

No. of Board Members remain at 17 (including Councillors)

Danforth Village

Deletions:

Alamgir Hussain

Marina Lazo

Nial Hennessy

Cathy Minos

Diane Oxley

No. Of Board Members will change from 16 to 13 (including Councillors)

Additions:
Jimmy Tsoutouras
Lurline Dunn

Greektown on the Danforth

Deletions: No. of Board Members will require a

Mr. Dan Giannetta change from 15 to 14(including

Councillors)

Old Cabbagetown

Additions: No. of Board Members will require a

Mr. Calvin Combdon Change from 16 to 14(including Councillor)

Deletions:

Mr. James Lapointe

Mr. Edwin Dumont

Ms. Tania Waldock

Riverside District

Additions: No. of Board Members will not require a

Mr. Jonathan Eaton Hines change (including Councillor)

Deletions:

Ms. Sara Meurling