

Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Councillor Maria Augimeri Councillor Sandra Bussin Councillor Shelley Carroll Councillor Janet Davis Councillor Paula Fletcher Councillor Suzan Hall Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby Councillor Pam McConnell Councillor Frances Nunziata Councillor Karen Stintz

October 27, 2009.

To: City Council

From: Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Subject: 2009 Recipients – Constance E. Hamilton Award

Recommendation:

That Toronto City Council confirm the selections made by the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee comprised of the Women Members of Council that **Ann Buller** and **Sonja Greckol** be the recipients of the 2009 Constance E. Hamilton Award.

Summary:

The Constance E. Hamilton Award is named after the first woman elected in 1920 to a municipal council in Toronto. The Award was established in 1979 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Person's Case which recognized that women were "persons" and could be appointed to the Senate of Canada.

The Constance E Hamilton Award recognizes person(s) who have made a significant contribution to improving the social, economic, cultural and political status of women in Toronto. The recipients are selected by the Women Members of Council.

The Selection Committee has reviewed the nominations submitted by the public and selected the following recipients for their contributions toward improving the status of women in Toronto:

Ann Buller - to recognise leadership efforts and contributions in the field of post-secondary education, including women's access to non-traditional fields; and

Sonja Greckol - to recognize a lifetime of leadership and advocacy to advance equality for women and contribution towards developing systems of accountability;

The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented during the City's Annual Human Rights Ceremony scheduled for November 25, 2009 at which the following awards will also be presented: Aboriginal Affairs Award, the Access Award on Disability Issues, the Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two Spirited Issues and the William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award.

Councillor Pam McConnell On behalf of the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee