

# STAFF REPORT ACTION REQUIRED

# **Business Improvement Area (BIA) Boards of Management – Various Additions and Deletions**

Date:	March 17, 2009
To:	North York Community Council
From:	Director, Business Services
Wards:	16 and 25
Reference Number:	

#### **SUMMARY**

The purpose of this report is to recommend that the North York Community Council approve the deletion of two members from the Yonge Lawrence Village BIA Board of Management. The North York Community Council has the delegated authority to make final decisions regarding BIA appointments.

#### RECOMMENDATIONS

#### The Director of Business Services recommends that:

- 1. North York Community Council approve the deletion of two Yonge Lawrence Village BIA Board of Management members as set out in Attachment No.1; and
- 2. Schedule A of the Municipal Code Chapter 19, Business Improvement Areas, be amended to reflect the change to the BIA Board of Management.

#### FINANCIAL IMPACT

There are no financial implications resulting from the adoption of this report.

#### **ISSUE BACKGROUND**

From time to time, it is necessary to remove BIA Board of Management members who are no longer able to serve, add new members to fill vacant positions, and revise the size

of BIA Boards and the number required for quorum as set out in Chapter 19 of the City of Toronto Municipal Code.

#### COMMENTS

The Yonge Lawrence Village BIA is governed by the North York Community Council.

The deletion of two members from the Yonge Lawrence Village BIA Board of Management will require a change to the Board of Management size. Meeting quorum will change from 5 to 4 members.

#### CONTACT

Michael Saunders Business Services Business Improvement Area Office

Tel: 416-392-1005 Fax: 416-392-1380

Email: msaunder@toronto.ca

#### **SIGNATURE**

Eva Pyatt Director, Business Services

#### **ATTACHMENTS**

Attachment No.1- Board of Management Additions and Deletions

## Attachment No. 1

## **Business Improvement Area Additions, Deletions & Nominations**

Yonge Lawrence Village No. of Members: 10 including 2 Councillors

(decreased from 12)

Quorum: 4 (decreased from 5)

#### **Deletions:**

Ms. Maria Iafrate Ms. Anna Machel