

City Clerk's Office

Ulli S. Watkiss City Clerk

Tel: 416-392-6316 Fax: 416-392-2980 Enail: msexton@toronto.ca Web: www.toronto.ca

Secretariat
Margaret Sexton
Toronto Preservation Board
City Hall, 12<sup>th</sup> Floor, West
100 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5H 2N2

April 23, 2009

To: Toronto and East York Community Council

From: Toronto Preservation Board

Subject: 10-14 Prince Arthur, Alteration of Designated Heritage Property and Demolition of

Unrated Property in Conjunction with Replacement Structure within the East Annex

Heritage Conservation District

## **Recommendations:**

The Toronto Preservation Board recommended to the Toronto and East York Community Council that:

- 1. City Council refuse the application for alterations to the designated building at 10 Prince Arthur Avenue and refuse the demolition of the non-contributory designated building at 14 Prince Arthur Avenue within the East Annex Heritage Conservation District.
- 2. City Council authorize the City Solicitor and City Staff to attend the Ontario Municipal Board hearing, should Council refuse this application and the refusal be appealed to the Board.

## Background:

The Toronto Preservation Board on April 23, 2009, considered the report (April 3, 2009) from the Acting Manager, Heritage Preservation Services, Policy and Research, City Planning Division.

The Toronto Preservation Board considered the following letters:

- a. (April 21, 2009) letter from Sandra Shaul, Chair, Heritage Committee, The Annex Residents Association (PB.New.PB23.1.1);
- b. (April 21, 2009) letter from Ian H. Ainsworth (PB.New.PB23.1.2);
- c. (April 21, 2009) e-mail from Gee Chung, President, The Greater Yorkville Residents Association (PB.New.PB23.1.3); and
- d. (April 21, 2009) letter from Gail Appel, President, Prince Arthur Condominiums, MTCC 1276 (PB.New.PB23.1.4).



The following persons addressed the Toronto Preservation Board:

Ian Ainsworth;

Sandra Shaul, Chair, Heritage Committee, The Annex Residents Association; William Greer, Vice President, Prince Arthur Condominiums, MTCC 1276; Cynthia MacDougall, McCarthy Tetrault LLP; Michael McClelland, E.R.A. Architects; and David Pontarini, Hariri Pontarini Architects.

City Clerk

Margaret Sexton

G:\SEC\Legislative Docs\2009\Others\Preservation\Letters\20090423\item1.doc