

Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Councillor Maria Augimeri Councillor Sandra Bussin Councillor Shelley Carroll Councillor Janet Davis Councillor Paula Fletcher Councillor Suzan Hall
Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby
Councillor Pam McConnell
Councillor Frances Nunziata
Councillor Karen Stintz

June 9, 2010.

To: Executive Committee

From: Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Subject: 2010 Recipients – Constance E. Hamilton Award

Recommendation:

That Toronto City Council confirm the unanimous selections made by the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee comprised of the Women Members of Council that **Cindy Cowan, Tam Goossen** and **Tonika Morgan** be the recipients of the 2010 Constance E. Hamilton Award.

Summary:

The Constance E. Hamilton Award was established in 1979 and is named after the first woman elected in 1920 to a municipal council in Toronto. The award recognizes person(s) who have made a significant contribution to improving the social, economic, cultural and political status of women in Toronto.

The Selection Committee has reviewed the nominations submitted by the public and selected the following recipients for their contributions toward improving the status of women in Toronto:

Cindy Cowan – to recognize her advocacy efforts and her leadership role in providing services aimed at improving the lives of the most marginalized women in the city;

Tam Goossen - to recognize a lifetime of leadership, advocacy and public service addressing the many dimensions of inequality; and

Tonika Morgan - to recognize her dedication in addressing the social and economic barriers faced by women and her efforts to engage youth in civic life.

The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented during the City's Annual Human Rights Ceremony at which the following awards will also be presented: Aboriginal Affairs Award, the Access Award on Disability Issues, the Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two Spirited Issues and the William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award.

Councillor Pam McConnell on behalf of the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee