

## **APPLEGROVE COMMUNITY COMPLEX**

60 Woodfield Road, Toronto, Ontario M4L 2W6 Tel: 416-461-8143 Fax: 416-461-5513 www.ApplegroveCC.ca



## "TOGETHER, BUILDING OUR COMMUNITY"

June 1, 2010.

To: Toronto and East York Community Council

From: Board of Management of Applegrove Community Complex

Subject: Nominations for Appointment to the Board of Management of Applegrove

**Community Complex** 

In accordance with the election held by the membership of Applegrove Community Complex, the Board of Management recommends that the Toronto and East York Community Council appoint at the pleasure of Council to the Board of Management the following nominees, whose appointment complies with the Public Appointments Policy:

1. for a 2-year term ending March 31, 2012 or until their successors are appointed:

Natalie Coulter for a first term replacing Donald Yuen

Estelle Halbach for a third term

Sydney Schultz for a first term replacing Patricia Reid

Pierre Trudel for a second full term (also completed 1 year prior to his first term)

Lynn Wyminga for a second term

2. for a 1-year term ending March 31, 2011 or until their successors are appointed:

Carmita Magnaye to replace Claudia Filici-McMullan

Ann McKechnie to replace Diane Ing

## **Background**

At the Applegrove Community Complex Annual General Meeting held on March 31, 2010, the membership of the Applegrove Community Complex nominated the individuals listed above for appointment by Toronto and East York Community Council to the Board of Management of the Applegrove Community Complex.

Appointment to the Applegrove Community Complex Board of Management is a matter for which the community council has been delegated authority from City Council to make a final decision, provided that the recommendations do not vary from the Public Appointments Policy.

The nominees are qualified to serve on the Board of Management pursuant to the terms established by the applicable City of Toronto By-law (Chapter 25 of the former City of Toronto Municipal Code), the Relationship Framework for Board-run Community Centres and the Council's Public Appointments Policy.

**Charitable Number: 10671 8943 RR0001** 

By this letter, the Board of Management requests that all individuals named, be appointed as Directors on the Board of Management of Applegrove Community Complex.

On behalf of the Board of Management, I respectfully request the City take the necessary steps to implement the above requested appointments.

The Board of Management is also pleased to report the following officers were elected at the Board of Management meeting on May 31, 2010:

Chairperson: Pierre Trudel
Vice Chair: Lynn Wyminga
Secretary: Alana Honsch
Treasurer: Ann McKechnie

Sincerely,

Susan Fletcher, Executive Director, Applegrove Community Complex.