

Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Councillor Maria Augimeri
Councillor Ana Bailão
Councillor Michelle Berardinetti
Councillor Shelley Carroll
Councillor Janet Davis
Councillor Sarah Doucette
Councillor Paula Fletcher
Councillor Mary Fragedakis

Councillor Gloria Lindsay Luby Councillor Pam McConnell Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon Councillor Frances Nunziata Councillor Jayne Robinson Councillor Karen Stintz Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam

June 1, 2012

To: Executive Committee

From: Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Subject: 2012 Recipients – Constance E. Hamilton Award

Recommendation:

That Toronto City Council confirms the unanimous selections made by the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee comprised of the Women Members of Council that Carolyn Egan and Ceta Ramkhalawansingh are the recipients of the 2012 Constance E. Hamilton Award.

Summary:

The Constance E. Hamilton Award was established in 1979 and is named after the first woman elected in 1920 to municipal council in Toronto. The award recognizes person(s) who have made a significant contribution to improving the social, economic, cultural and political status of women in Toronto.

The Selection Committee has reviewed the nominations submitted by the public and selected the following recipients for their contributions toward improving the status of women in Toronto:

Carolyn Egan – For over forty years, Carolyn Egan has made a tremendous contribution to improving the quality of life for women in Toronto. As an ardent trade unionist, feminist, human rights activist and political activist, the scope and depth of her leadership in community engagement and social movement building has been extensive and extraordinary. She is president of the community board of the Immigrant Women's Health Centre in Toronto, past president of Women in Transition, a women's shelter, and past vice-president of the YWCA of Metropolitan Toronto. She has been central to organizing Toronto's annual International Women's Day march since the first march was organized in 1978. Her vision and leadership has sustained an annual vibrant IWD March with diverse community and labour contingents.

Ceta Ramkhalawansingh - Though Ceta may be known for her professional contributions to access, equity and human rights at Toronto City Hall where she worked from 1981 to retirement in 2010, her volunteer advocacy and community service contributions over the past forty years are unparalleled in their range and effectiveness. Currently, she is the National Chair, The Word On The Street Canada; President, LEARNXS Foundation and board member Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care. At the University of Toronto, she is a Principal's Appointee, Innis College Council and represents New College Alumni on the College of Electors. She is a member of the Advisory Committee, Community Worker Program at George Brown College, a member of Advisory Panel for the Investing in Diversity Scholarships program at Scadding Court, and a member of the jury for the community heritage award of Heritage Toronto. Ceta is also the honorary chair of the Grange Community Association for her work on revitalizing the Grange Park.

The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented during the City's Annual Human Rights Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, December 5th when the following awards will also be presented: Aboriginal Affairs Award, the Access Award on Disability Issues, the Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two Spirited Issues and the William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award.

Councillor Pam McConnell

Yam McConnell

on behalf of the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee