## endeavour

November 12, 2012

Sent Via Email to: exc@toronto.ca

Executive Committee Secretariat 10<sup>th</sup> Floor, West Tower, City Hall 100 Queen Street West Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

## Re: Executive Committee Item EX24.8 – Future of the Three Major Civic Theatres - Directions Resulting from REOI No. 9101-12-7008

As a 30 year veteran of the Toronto entertainment scene, both producing and marketing, I am writing to express concern regarding the Report on the Future of the Three Major Civic Theatres, specifically the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

In concluding that the Sony Centre should be sold, fails to acknowledge how the vibrant stage the Sony Centre offers reflects the diversity of this great city. It is the sole theatre that programmes artistic performances from around the world to honour the thousands of people from diverse cultures that have come to call Toronto their home.

The City should continue to support the Centre.

If however the City decides to sell the theatre, may I recommend that any new owner be adhere to the conditions that the venue continue to be run not only as a theatre but a theatre whose primary mandate is the presentation of multicultural programming. The threat is losing the one venue in the City that unites and celebrates all of our cultures on a grand scale. It would be tragic for Toronto which prides itself on being the most multicultural city in the world. I urge the Executive Committee to:

- 1. reject the Report's recommendation to divest the Sony Centre or at the very least
- 2. amend the Report to:
  - a. eliminate the possibility of "adaptive reuse"
  - b. require that the theatre be maintained as such and
  - c. require that any divestiture be made only to a third party who would commit to continue the Centre's multicultural programming mandate that has come to perfectly exemplify the very essence of what makes Toronto so unique throughout the world.

Sincerely,

Barry Avrich CEO

cc: Executive Committee Members Mayor Rob Ford (Chair) Councillor Paul Ainslie Councillor Michelle Berardinetti Councillor Mike Del Grande Councillor Doug Holyday Councillor Norman Kelly Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti Councillor Peter Milczyn Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong Councillor Cesar Palacio Councillor Jaye Robinson Councillor David Shiner Councillor Michael Thompson