TE21.6.2



January 16, 2017

Toronto and East York Community Council

2nd floor, West Tower, City Hall

100 Queen St. W., Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

Att: Ellen Devlin, Committee Clerk, Email: <u>TEYCC@toronto.ca</u>

Re. TE21.6 701-713 Soudan Ave, 1674-1684 Bayview Ave and 720 Hillsdale Ave East – Official Plan Amendment, Zoning By-law Amendment - Request for Direction Report

Dear Chair Kristyn Wong-Tam and Members of the Toronto and East York Community Council,

SERRA, the South Eglinton Ratepayers' and Residents' Association (SERRA), represents the residents in the immediate area of this proposed development.

We wish to support the recommendations of the City Planning report to oppose the applicant's OMB appeal for this property due to the fact that it exceeds its allowable height, encroaches on the residential neighbourhood to the west, and sets a potentially negative precedent for future development along this stretch of Bayview Ave. as well as other "Avenues" in the SERRA area such as Yonge Street and Eglinton Ave East. Lastly, we wish for a decision on this development to be delayed until the completion of the Yonge - Eglinton Secondary Plan update.

We do commend the Brown group for their flexibility and accommodation, working with the councillor and the community, in making major design changes

to their original submission, such as reducing height, density and parking spaces and improving setbacks. Traffic flow and traffic safety concerns were also addressed, and the developer undertook a complete architectural redesign to better reflect the prevailing character of the neighbourhood.

Regardless of the Ontario Municipal Board appeal, we remain open to participate in a continuing dialogue with the developer without the need for a full OMB hearing.

Thank you for your consideration.

Yours truly,

Andy Gort,

President, SERRA

PO Box 43613, 1601 Bayview Avenue,

Toronto, ON M4G-4G8

c.c.

Councillor Josh Matlow, Ward 22

Councillor Jon Burnside, Ward 26

Gregg Lintern, Director, Community Planning, Toronto and East York District

Joe Nanos, Director, Community Planning, North York District

Jamie McEwan, Manager Community Planning, Midtown section

David Driedger, Senior Planner

Jane Auster, VP SERRA

Geoff Kettel and Carol Burtin-Fripp, Co-Presidents LPOA