

# GM28.11.01 Cesar Palacio



City Councillor – Ward 17 • Davenport

June 4, 2018

TO: Chair and Members of the Government Management Committee

RE: GM 28.11 - 1884 Davenport Road - Designation of a Portion of the Property Used by The Stop Community Food Centre as a Municipal Capital Facility

For decades, The Stop Community Food Centre has been at the forefront of innovative programming while confronting the underlying issues that lead to poverty and hunger. Their wide range of programs include drop-in meals, a food bank, community kitchens and gardens, prenatal/family services along with children and youth programming. Furthermore, this facility is located in an area designated by City Council as a Neighborhood Improvement Area (NIA) - the Weston/Pelham Park community.

As the local City Councillor for Ward-17 Davenport I have witnessed the Stop's unwavering commitment, high standard of customer service excellence and tremendous passion in continuing to serve our great community. During the 2016 October City Council meeting, I tabled a Notice of Motion (MM21.12) that requested City staff to report on the feasibility of providing a municipal capital facility exemption for The Stop Community Food Centre.

I wholeheartedly support the Treasurer's recommendations that will be before your respective Committee on June 5, 2018, with regards to item GM28.11, and I urge the Committee to support the noted recommendations. As I will not be able to attend the Committee meeting, I wanted to share my full support for this item with the Chair and Committee members.

Sincerely Yours,

Cesar Palacio Toronto City Councillor Ward 17-Davenport



### **Tracking Status**

• City Council adopted this item on October 5, 2016 without amendments.

#### City Council consideration on October 5, 2016

| MM21.12      | ACTION | Adopted | 10 | Ward:17 |
|--------------|--------|---------|----|---------|
| 1411412 1.12 |        | ,       |    |         |

Request for report on the feasibility of a Municipal Capital Facility Exemption for The Stop Community Food Centre located at 1884 Davenport Road - by Councillor Cesar Palacio, seconded by Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker

### **City Council Decision**

City Council on October 5, 6 and 7, 2016, adopted the following:

1. City Council request the appropriate City Staff to prepare a report on the feasibility of providing a municipal capital facility exemption for The Stop Community Food Centre located at 1884 Davenport Road.

## **Background Information (City Council)**

Member Motion MM21.12

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/mm/bgrd/backgroundfile-96877.pdf)

#### Motions (City Council)

Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)

Speaker Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM21.12 be referred to the Government Management Committee. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

#### Vote (Waive Referral)

Oct-06-2016 2:36 PM

| Result: Carried | Two-Thirds Required - MM21.12 - Walve referral                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       |  |  |
|-----------------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|--|--|
| Yes: 30         | Paul Ainslie, Maria Augimeri, Ana Bailão, Christin Carmichael Greb, Joe Cressy, Vincent Crisanti, Janet Davis, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Justin J. Di Clano, Sarah Doucette, John Fillon, Michael Ford, Mary Fragedakis, Mark Grimes, Michelle Holland, Jim Karygiannis, Norman Kelly, Mike Layton, Chin Lee, Giorgio Mammoliti, Josh Matlow, Pam McConnell, Mary-Margaret McMahon, Joe Mihevc, Frances Nunziata (Chair), Cesar Palacio, James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Kristyn Wong-Tam |  |  |
| No: 8           | Jon Burnside, John Campbell, Josh Colle, Gary Crawford, Paula Fletcher,<br>Stephen Holyday, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Jaye Robinson                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        |  |  |
| Absent: 6       | Shelley Carroll, Frank Di Giorgio, Ron Moeser, David Shiner, Michael Thompson, John Tory                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             |  |  |