



Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee

Recipients of the Agnes Macphail Award

1994 J. Edna Beange

1995 Eileen Morris Adams

1996 Marjorie Lewsey

1997 Ruth Goldhar

1998 Elisabeth and Robert Lister

1999 Barbara Thompson

2000 Audrey Tobias

2001 Grace Stephens

2002 Bob Hart

2003 Dorothy Rivers-Moore

2004 Vi Thompson

2005 George Hurst

2006 Shamsh Kara

2007 Lorna Krawchuk

2008 Geoffrey Kettel

2009 Patricia Moore

2010 Bill Pashby

2011 John Carter

2012 Alice Carriman

2013 Alan Redway

2014 Sheila Lacroix

2015 Muhammad Masood Alam

2016 Patrick Rocca

2017 Rev. Jim Parker

2018 Carol Burtin Fripp

2019 Karen Fraser

September 30, 2019

Mayor Tory and Members of Council,

I am writing today in support of Councillor Fletcher's motion to grandparent the family of legacy events.

The Agnes Macphail Award has been awarded annually since 1994 to an East York resident who has contributed to the community through volunteer work in the areas of women's rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice system, international peace, and access to adequate housing, health care and education. Our committee has also organized the Agnes Macphail Speaking Contest for the past 21 years.

Prior to amalgamation, our committee was supported by the former Borough of East York in the administration of the Agnes Macphail Award and planning of the Agnes Macphail Award ceremony. Since amalgamation, our committee has taken responsibility for additional aspects of the planning and organizational work and we continue to work with the local councillor's office to organize a successful event each year.

Our committee works hard to maintain local traditions and celebrate East York residents and local leaders and this would not be possible without the support of the City of Toronto. I sincerely support Councillor Fletcher's motion and urge you to recognize the important work that local volunteer-led organizations like ours do across the City of Toronto by supporting this motion as well.

As always, we appreciate your support of this special East York award.

Sincerely,

Lorna Krawchuk

Loena Krawchuk

Chair, Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee LTKrawchuk8@aol.com 416 425 4431

"Think globally, act locally."





"Think globally, act locally."