The Structure of Council

Toronto City Council is the main governing and legislative body of the City of Toronto. City Council is composed of the Mayor and 44 Councillors who make decisions on behalf of their constituents.

Much of what is discussed at City Council are reports from its various Committees, including Community Councils, Standing Policy Committees, the Executive Committee, and other Committees of Council.  These Committees report to City Council and make recommendations for a final decision, although Community Councils have some powers to make decisions on specific issues. Each City Councillor sits on at least one of these Committees.

For more information on how City Council discusses issues and makes decisions, see our guide to Decision Making.

City Council & its Committees learning guide brochure

Read this guide as a brochure