Profile: Ward 20 Trinity-Spadina
Councillor Joe Cressy's portrait

Councillor Cressy’s appointments

Council and its Committees

Other Boards and Committees

Business Improvement Areas

Executive Assistant

Lia Brewer
Lia.Brewer@toronto.ca

Administrative Assistant

Angela Daeun Bae
Angela.Bae@toronto.ca

Constituency Assistant

Brent Gilliard
Brent.Gilliard@toronto.ca

Constituency Assistant

Colin Burns
Colin.Burns@toronto.ca

Constituency Assistant

Joan Wilson
Joan.Wilson@toronto.ca

Special Assistant

David Clark
David.Clark@toronto.ca

Joe Cressy was born and raised in downtown Toronto, in a family whose defining values are community building and public service – values that have driven him his whole life.

He has worked on poverty issues while living in South Africa and Ghana, led literacy programs in fly-in Aboriginal reserves in Northern Ontario, and managed environmental campaigns to protect Canada’s freshwater.  Before being elected, he served as a Director of Campaigns and Outreach at the Stephen Lewis Foundation, which supports community-based HIV/AIDS organizations in sub-Saharan Africa

Joe understands that strong infrastructure and social services are vital to the quality of life in a big city, and his passion for social justice translates to his work at City Hall. In his various appointments, including to the Board of Health, Toronto Community Housing Corporation Board of Directors, Sub-committee on Climate Change and Adaptation, and in his role as Toronto’s Youth Equity Advocate, he is committed to making life better in Toronto.

As Councillor for Ward 20, Joe works tirelessly to build better neighbourhoods, expand and improve public green spaces, and make life in downtown Toronto more equitable.

(Information provided by Councillor)