• Artists: Arctic Arts Summit & Scotiabank, CONTACT Photography Festival
  • Medium: Photography Installation
  • Project Type: Major Institutions
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown

Land of None | Land of Us is an exhibition of contemporary circumpolar photography exterior Metro Hall.


55 John St

  • Address: 55 John
    Images viewable on the South East corner of King and John Streets outside Metro Hall.
  • Public Washrooms: No
  • Physical Access: Wheelchair accessible
  • Schedule: Until Oct 10. Viewable all day and night.

The Project

Land of None / Land of Us features thirty-six circumpolar photographers inspired by their northern landscapes and our ongoing presence and engagement with these lands and waters. It highlights the Indigenous inhabitants and guardians of the land who have dwelled here for thousands of years. The title Land of None / Land of Us refers to the Lockean principle “terra nullius,” meaning land belonging to no one, which gave colonizers the legal right to claim Indigenous land by naming it as such. These principles are defined by the notion that we are separate from the land, yet Indigenous beliefs center the opposite. We are the same as the land, the animals, and the water. We are thriving. The land is us. Regardless of the borders that we live between, Indigenous people of the circumpolar North share a common understanding: the land and its fluctuations are paramount to our livelihood. Our connection to the land shapes our everyday lives, values, traditions and art, and very little of these aspects of us are shaped by modern-day colonial boundaries. Visit this contemporary photographic art installation and appreciate the dramatic and every day images captured of the North, by the North.

The Artists

  • Arctic Arts Summit & Scotiabank

  • CONTACT Photography Festival

Curated by Melissa Shaginoff (Ahtna & Paiute), Dgheyey Kaq’, Alaska; Jennifer Bowen (Dene), Denendeh; Alice Marie Jektevik (Sámi), Áttir, Sápmi; Jessica Winters (Inuk), Makkovik, Nunatsiavut; with mentor Pat Kane (Ashinaabe), Denendeh. Artists include: Artists include: Agnieszka Sosnowska (Iceland); Anders Berthelsen (Inuit Nunaat), Angu Motzfeldt (Inuit Nunaat), Anne Katja Gaup (Sápmi), Arlyn Charlie (Gwich’in), Birthinnguaq Lange (Inuit Nunaat), Carl Johan (Sápmi), Carson Tagoona (Inuit Nunaat), Christian Solbeck (Inuit Nunaat), Cody Mantla (Tłı̨chǫ traditional homelands), David Stewart (Settler/Scottish in Inuvik), Deenaalee Hodgdon (Deg Xit’an Dené, Anvik, Alaska), Eldred Allen (Inuit Nunaat), Ellijah Neeley (Ahtna Athabascan homelands), Golga Oscar (Yup’ik homelands), Heida Helgadottir (Iceland), Iris Egilsdatter Somby (Sápmi), Jamie Stevenson (Tłı̨chǫ traditional homelands), Jenny Irene Miller (Inupiaq homelands), Kali Spitzer (Lək̓ʷəŋən homelands), Kristian Binder (Sápmi), Lada Suomenrinne (Sápmi), Lucasi Kiatainaq (Inuit Nunaat), Malaya Qaunirq Chapman (Inuit Nunaat), Marita Kristin Eilertsen Tøsse (Sápmi), Maureen Gruben (Inuit Nunaat), Meeka Steen (Inuit Nunaat), Millie Olsen (Mayo homelands), Minnie Clark (Tlingit homelands), Morgan Tsetta (Denendeh), Ørjan Marakatt Bertelsen (Sápmi), Robert Kautuk (Inuit Nunaat), Sergey Gavrilov (Sápmi), Steve Nilsen (Sápmi), Ukjese van Kampen (Champagne and Aishihik First Nations land), Yael Bar Cohen (Iceland).


This project is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Inuit Futures project in partnership with Nuit Blanche Toronto and Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival. Special thanks to the Inuit Art Foundation, Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival and Inuit Futures