The City is committed to transparency and accountability, and provides staff with expertise to speak to an array of issues during regular business hours. Media should clearly identify what they require assistance with, their contact information and deadline, at the time they request information.

Search the table below by subject or name to find the media contact you need. If you’re not sure, contact the Media Relations Desk.

 

Topic, Division or Office Media Contact
  City-Wide Key Contact Wynna Brown
416-392-8937
Wynna.Brown@toronto.ca
 Mayor’s Office Don Peat
416-338-3206
Don.Peat@toronto.ca
 Members of Council Please contact their office
311 Toronto Chris Fernandes
416-397-5211
Chris.Fernandes@toronto.ca
Affordable Housing Mercedeh Madani
416-397-4252
mmadani@toronto.ca
Corporate Finance

  • City budget
  • Tax policy
  • Development charges
  • Insurance and Risk Management
  • Chief Financial Officer
Paula Chung
416-392-1649
Paula.Chung@toronto.ca
Children’s Services Tina Hurl-Priestly
416-397-5326
Tina.Hurl-Priestley@toronto.ca
City Planning

  • Planning applications and related issues
  • Major planning initiatives (new bylaws)
  • Heritage Preservation and Archaeology
  • Toronto Urban Design Awards
  • Planning conferences, events, speakers, symposiums
Bruce Hawkins
416-392-3496
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Court Services John Bugailiskis
416-392-5349
John.Bugailiskis@toronto.ca
Economic Development & Culture Shane Gerrard
416-397-5711
Shane.Gerard@toronto.ca
Employment & Social Services Anna Fiorino
416-392-9052
Anna.Fiorino@toronto.ca
Engineering & Construction Services

  • Design and construction
Cheryl San Juan
416-392-4391
Cheryl.SanJuan@toronto.ca
Environment & Energy

  • TransformTO Climate Action Strategy
  • Climate Adaptation
  • Toronto’s Environmental Progress Report
  • Clean Toronto Together
  • Eco-Roof Incentive Program
  • Home Energy Loan Program (HELP)
  • Live Green Toronto
  • Smart Commute Toronto-Central
  • Toronto’s Greenest Neighbourhoods
  • Urban Agriculture/Local Food
Valerie Cassells
416-397-5301
Valerie.Cassells@toronto.ca
Facilities Management

  • Corporate Security
  • North St. Lawrence Market
  • Union Station
Erin McGuey
416-392-9418
Erin.McGuey@toronto.ca
Fleet Services Erin McGuey
416-392-9418
Erin.McGuey@toronto.ca
Real Estate Services Erin McGuey
416-392-9418
Erin.McGuey@toronto.ca
Information & Technology Stephanie Diodati
416-338-2448
Stephanie.Diodati@toronto.ca
Long-Term Care Homes & Services Natasha Hinds Fitzsimmins
16-392-5349
Natasha.HindsFitzsimmins@toronto.ca
Social Development, Finance & Administration

  • Community development
Natasha Hinds Fitzsimmins
16-392-5349
Natasha.HindsFitzsimmins@toronto.ca
Major Capital Infrastructure Co-ordination Office

  • Major capital infrastructure coordination
  • T.O.INview
Cheryl San Juan
416-392-4391
Cheryl.SanJuan@toronto.ca
Municipal Licensing & Standards

  • Toronto Animal Services
  • Bylaw Reviews
  • Enforcement of bylaws (dogs off-leash, illegal marijuana storefronts, illegal dumping, no heat, property standards, nightclubs, food trucks, rooming houses)
  • Taxis and Private Transportation Companies (Uber, Lyft)
  • Short-term Rentals (Airbnb)
  • Licensing (taxis, mobile businesses and business licensing)
  • RentSafeTo: Apartment Building Standards Program
  • Election Signs
Tammy Robbinson
416-338-3761
Tammy.Robbinson@toronto.ca
Office of Emergency Management Wynna Brown
416-392-8937
Wynna.Brown@toronto.ca
Parks, Forestry & Recreation Media Line
416-560-8726
pfrmedialine@toronto.ca


Jane Arbour
416-338-0944
Jane.Arbour@toronto.ca


Jaclyn Carlisle
416-397-5305
Jaclyn.Carlisle@toronto.ca

Protocol Services

  • Remembrance Day
Eric Holmes
416-392-2708
Eric.Holmes@toronto.ca
Revenue Services

  • Parking violations
  • Property taxes
Andrea Martinelli
416-338-5768
Andrea.Martinelli@toronto.ca
Office of the Treasurer Andrea Martinelli
416-338-5768
Andrea.Martinelli@toronto.ca
Purchasing & Materials Management Andrea Martinelli
416-338-5768
Andrea.Martinelli@toronto.ca
Shelter, Support & Housing Administration

  • Housing Connections
Patricia Anderson
416-397-4328
Patricia.Anderson@toronto.ca
Solid Waste Management Services

  • Waste disposal (e.g. landfill)
    Organics (processing facilities, yard waste)
  • Curbside recycling, organics, garbage and electronics
  • In-store packaging reduction (plastic bag bylaw, etc.)
  • Charities rate and waste reduction
  • Solid Waste budget/user fees
Tamara Staranchuk
416-392-4716
Tamara.Staranchuk@toronto.ca
Solid Waste Management Services

  • Multi-residential recycling, organics, garbage, electronics
  • Rigid plastics addition to recycling
  • Waste Wizard (online search tool)
  • Household Hazardous Waste
  • Reuse Centres (durable goods)
  • Contracting out
Siobhan Ramsay
416-397-5001
Siobhan.Ramsay@toronto.ca
Economic Development & Culture – Special Events

  • Cavalcade of Lights
  • Cultural Hotspot
  • Doors Open
  • Indigenous Arts Festival
  • Summer/Winterlicious
  • New Year’s Eve
  • Nuit Blanche Toronto
Justine Palinska
416-395-7318
Justine.Palinska@toronto.ca
Fire Services Media Line
416-338-0763
firemedia@toronto.ca
Transportation Services

  • Winter operations (snow issues)
  • Road operations (potholes, construction, etc.)
  • Safety (red light running, pedestrian safety, etc.)
  • Cycling, bike lanes
  • Public Realm (street furniture, street art [graffiti art] Walking Strategy)
  • Capital budget
  • Transportation initiatives and long-term planning
  • Parking permit
Cheryl San Juan
416-392-4391
Cheryl.SanJuan@toronto.ca
Toronto Building

  • Sign Bylaw Project
  • Implementation of the Zoning Bylaw
  • Enforcement of the Ontario Building Code
  • Building permits and inspections issues
  • Toronto Building events, promotions, and home shows
  • Construction incidents (accidents, cranes, falling pieces)
Bruce Hawkins
416-392-3496
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Toronto Paramedic Services (formerly Emergency Medical Services) Kim McKinnon
416-392-2255
After hours: 416-392-0000
Kim.McKinnon@toronto.ca
Public Health Lenore Bromley
416-338-7974
Lenore.Bromley@toronto.ca
Toronto Water

  • Stormwater management (Wet Weather Flow Master Plan, Don & Central Waterfront)
  • Basement flooding (Basement Flooding Protection and Subsidy Programs, Mandatory Downspout Disconnection)
  • Wastewater Treatment (wastewater treatment plants, biosolids)
  • Environmental Monitoring and Protection (Sewers Bylaw, Water Supply Bylaw, cross connections, pools)
  • Industrial/Commercial/Institutional (ICI) programs including Industrial Water Rate, Capacity Buy Back, Sewer Surcharge, Backflow Prevention
  • Service delivery and response, including emergency repairs (water/sewermain breaks), preventative maintenance and service communications (frozen pipes, blocked drains, fire hydrants)
Ellen Leesti
416-397-1403
Ellen.Leesti@toronto.ca
Toronto Water

  • Water Treatment and Supply (drinking water quality, low water pressure/no water, water treatment plants)
  • Lead issue, including corrosion control, lead testing, coordination with TPH, Priority and Capital Lead Water Service Replacement Programs, Faucet Filter Rebate Program
  • Community Outreach, including water efficiency (residential), HTO To Go water trailer program and other events/exhibits
  • Capital/Operating budget/water rate
  • Water Meter Program
  • Capital construction (water/sewermain upgrades, stormwater pond management)
  • Customer Service
Kris Scheuer
416-338-0698
Kris.Scheuer@toronto.ca

Media Relations Desk

7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Thursday
7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Friday
Telephone: 416-338-5986
Email: media@toronto.ca

The following Strategic Communications contacts staff the Media Relations Desk:

Director, Strategic Communications

Jackie DeSouza
416-397-5277
Jacke.DeSouza@toronto.ca