The City is committed to transparency and accountability, and provides staff with expertise to speak to an array of issues during regular business hours. Media should clearly identify what they require assistance with, their contact information and deadline, at the time they request information.

Search the table below by subject or name to find the media contact you need. If you’re not sure, contact the Media Relations Desk.

Topic, Division or Office Media Contact
 Mayor’s Office Don Peat
416-338-3206
Don.Peat@toronto.ca
 Members of Council Please contact their offices directly
311 Toronto Chris Fernandes
416-397-5211
Chris.Fernandes@toronto.ca
Affordable Housing Mercedeh Madani
416-397-4252
Mercedeh.Madani@toronto.ca
Corporate Finance and Financial Planning

  • City budget
  • Tax policy
  • Development charges
  • Insurance and Risk Management
  • Chief Financial Officer
Bruce Hawkins
416-392-9418
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Children’s Services Aggie Fortier
416-397-5326
Aggie.Fortier@toronto.ca
City Planning

  • Planning applications and related issues
  • Major planning initiatives (new bylaws)
  • Heritage Preservation and Archaeology
  • Toronto Urban Design Awards
  • Planning conferences, events, speakers, symposiums
Ellen Leesti
416-397-1403
Ellen.Leesti@toronto.ca
Court Services Cheryl San Juan
416-392-8386
Cheryl.SanJuan@toronto.ca
Economic Development & Culture

  • Toronto Film Office
  • Museums and Historic Sites
  • Toronto Book Awards
  • Cultural Hotspot
Erin George
416-397-4062
Erin.George@toronto.ca
Economic Development & Culture – Special Events

  • Cavalcade of Lights
  • Doors Open Toronto
  • Canada Day at Mel Lastman Square
  • Indigenous Arts Festival
  • Summer/Winterlicious
  • New Year’s Eve
  • Nuit Blanche Toronto
Michele Simpson
416-392-4467 Michele.Simpson@toronto.ca
Elections Tammy Robbinson
416-392-8937
Tammy.Robbinson@toronto.ca
Employment & Social Services Anna Fiorino
416-392-9052
Anna.Fiorino@toronto.ca
Engineering & Construction Services

  • Design and construction
Susan Pape
416-392-8350
Susan.Pape@toronto.ca
Environment & Energy

  • TransformTO Climate Action Strategy
  • Toronto’s Environmental Progress Report
  • Clean Toronto Together
  • Eco-Roof Incentive Program, Home Energy Loan Program (HELP)
  • Live Green Toronto
  • Smart Commute
  • Toronto’s Greenest Neighbourhoods
  • Urban Agriculture/Local Food
Valerie Cassells
416-397-5301
Valerie.Cassells@toronto.ca
Facilities Management

  • Corporate Security
  • North St. Lawrence Market
  • Union Station
Bruce Hawkins
416-392-9418
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Fleet Services Bruce Hawkins
416-392-9418
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Real Estate Services Bruce Hawkins
416-392-9418
Bruce.Hawkins@toronto.ca
Information & Technology Andrea Martinelli
416-338-5768
Andrea.Martinelli@toronto.ca
Long-Term Care Homes & Services Aggie Fortier
416-397-5326
Aggie.Fortier@toronto.ca
Social Development, Finance & Administration

  • Community development
Natasha Hinds Fitzsimmins
416-392-5349
Natasha.HindsFitzsimmins@toronto.ca
Major Capital Infrastructure Coordination Office

  • Major capital infrastructure coordination
  • T.O.INview
Susan Pape
416-392-8350
Susan.Pape@toronto.ca
Municipal Licensing & Standards

  • Toronto Animal Services (pet adoptions, microchipping, spay/neuter services, injured animal reporting)
  • Bylaw Reviews
  • Enforcement of bylaws (dogs off-leash, illegal marijuana storefronts, illegal dumping, no heat, property standards, nightclubs, food trucks, rooming houses)
  • Taxis and Private Transportation Companies (Uber, Lyft)
  • Short-term Rentals (Airbnb)
  • Licensing (taxis, mobile businesses and business licensing)
  • RentSafeTO: Apartment Building Standards Program
  • Election signs
Media Relations Desk
416-338-5986
media@toronto.ca
Office of Emergency Management Alex Burke
416-397-5313
Alex.Burke@toronto.caAndrea Gonsalves
416-397-4149
Andrea.Gonsalves@toronto.ca
Parks, Forestry & Recreation Shane Gerard
416-397-5711
Shane.Gerard@toronto.caJaclyn Carlisle
416-397-5305
Jaclyn.Carlisle@toronto.ca
Protocol Services

  • Remembrance Day
  • Key to the City
Rosalynd Rupert
416-392-6890
Rosalynd.Rupert@toronto.ca
Revenue Services

  • Parking violations
  • Property taxes
Ashley Hammill
416-392-6786
Ashley.Hammill@toronto.ca
Office of the Controller Ashley Hammill
416-392-6786
Ashley.Hammill@toronto.ca
Purchasing & Materials Management Ashley Hammill
416-392-6786
Ashley.Hammill@toronto.ca
Shelter, Support & Housing Administration

  • Housing Connections
Media Relations Desk
416-338-5986
media@toronto.ca
Solid Waste Management Services

  • Waste disposal (e.g. landfill)
    Organics (processing facilities, yard waste)
  • Curbside recycling, organics, garbage and electronics
  • In-store packaging reduction (plastic bag bylaw, etc.)
  • Charities rate and waste reduction
  • Solid Waste budget/user fees
Tamara Staranchuk
416-392-4716
Tamara.Staranchuk@toronto.ca
Solid Waste Management Services

  • Multi-residential recycling, organics, garbage, electronics
  • Rigid plastics addition to recycling
  • Waste Wizard (online search tool)
  • Household Hazardous Waste
  • Reuse Centres (durable goods)
  • Contracting out
Siobhan Ramsay
416-397-5001
Siobhan.Ramsay@toronto.ca
Fire Services Fire Media Line
416-338-0763
firemedia@toronto.ca
Transportation Services

  • Winter operations (snow issues)
  • Road operations (potholes, construction, etc.)
  • Safety (red light running, pedestrian safety, etc.)
  • Cycling, bike lanes
  • Public Realm (street furniture, street art [graffiti art] Walking Strategy)
  • Capital budget
  • Transportation initiatives and long-term planning
  • Parking permit
Eric Holmes
416-392-4391
Eric.Holmes@toronto.ca
Transportation Services

  • Vision Zero Road Safety Plan
  • Automated Speed Enforcement
  • Safety Zones
  • School Crossing Guard Program
  • Active & Safe Routes to School
  • General road safety inquiries
Hakeem Muhammad
416-338-5536
Hakeem.Muhammad@toronto.ca
Toronto Building

  • Sign Bylaw Project
  • Implementation of the Zoning Bylaw
  • Enforcement of the Ontario Building Code
  • Building permits and inspections issues
  • Toronto Building events, promotions, and home shows
  • Construction incidents (accidents, cranes, falling pieces)
Ellen Leesti
416-397-1403
Ellen.Leesti@toronto.ca
Toronto Paramedic Services Kim McKinnon
416-392-2255
Kim.McKinnon@toronto.caAfter hours: 416-392-0000
Toronto Public Health

TPHmedia@toronto.ca

Lenore Bromley
416-338-7974
Lenore.Bromley@toronto.ca

 

Toronto Water

  • Water/sewermain breaks
  • Frozen pipes
  • Fire hydrants
  • Industrial/Commercial/Institutional (ICI) programs including Industrial Water Rate, Capacity Buy Back, Sewer Surcharge, Backflow Prevention
  • Customer services
  • MyWaterToronto
Diala Homaidan
416-392-4310
Diala.Homaidan@toronto.ca
Toronto Water

  • Capital/Operating budget/water rate
  • Environmental Monitoring and Protection (Sewers Bylaw, Water Supply Bylaw, spills to the environment from the sewer system, cross connections, pools)
  • Wastewater Treatment (wastewater treatment plants, bypasses, biosolids)
  • Wet Weather Flow Master Plan
Diane Morrison
416-392-3496
Diane.Morrison@toronto.ca
Toronto Water

  • Stormwater management – Don & Central Waterfront
Kris Scheuer
416-338-0698
Kris.Scheuer@toronto.ca
Toronto Water

  • Basement flooding (Basement Flooding Protection and Subsidy Programs)
  • Capital construction notification (water/sewermain relining upgrades, stormwater pond management)
  • Community Outreach, including water efficiency (residential), HTO To Go water trailer program and other events/exhibits
  • Lead issue, including corrosion control, lead testing, coordination with TPH, Priority and Capital Lead Water Service Replacement Programs, Faucet Filter Rebate Program
  • Mandatory Downspout Disconnection
  • Water Meters
  • Water Treatment and Supply (drinking water quality, low water pressure/no water, water treatment plants)
Magda Stec
416-397-4221
Magda.Stec@toronto.ca

 

Media Relations Desk

8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday
416-338-5986
media@toronto.ca

Chief Communications Officer

Brad Ross
416-397-5277
Brad.Ross@toronto.ca
@bradrossTO