Authority: Striking Committee Report No. 5, Clause No. 1,

as adopted by City of Toronto Council on December 5, 6 and 7, 2005

Enacted by Council: December 7, 2005

CITY OF TORONTO

BY-LAW No. 1067-2005

To amend By-law No. 527-2005, being a by-law "To appoint nine members of City Council as members of the Toronto Transit Commission.", so as to appoint replacement members of City Council as members of the Toronto Transit Commission.

WHEREAS Toronto City Council has declared the seat of Councillor Balkissoon vacant; and

WHEREAS Councillor Balkissoon was appointed as a member of the Toronto Transit Commission by By-law No. 527-2005; and

WHEREAS subsection 26(3) of the *City of Toronto Act, 1997 (No. 2)* provides that a member of Toronto City Council who is appointed as a member of the commission ceases to be a member of the Toronto Transit Commission on ceasing to be a member of Toronto City Council; and

WHEREAS it is anticipated that there may be a further resignation from Toronto City Council of a member of the Toronto Transit Commission;

The Council of the City of Toronto HEREBY ENACTS as follows:

- 1. Section 1 of By-law No. 527-2005 is amended by deleting the name "Councillor B. Balkissoon" and substituting in place thereof the name "Councillor G. De Baeremaeker".
- **2.** By-law No. 527-2005 be amended by adding the following as Section 2:
 - "2. If a vacancy occurs, the following shall be appointed a member of the Toronto Transit Commission, which appointment shall take effect upon the resignation from City Council of any member appointed by Section 1:

Councillor M. Grimes"

ENACTED AND PASSED this 7th day of December, A.D. 2005.

DAVID R. MILLER, Mayor ULLI S. WATKISS

City Clerk

(Corporate Seal)