Authority: Executive Committee Item 15.9,

as adopted by City of Toronto Council on December 11, 12 and 13, 2007

Enacted by Council: December 13, 2007

CITY OF TORONTO

BY-LAW No. 1357-2007

To amend City of Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 59, Emergency Planning to reflect changes to the standing committees of City Council.

WHEREAS Chapter 59, Emergency Planning of the City of Toronto Municipal Code requires the Toronto Emergency Management Program Committee established under the Chapter to report to the former Community Services Committee of Toronto City Council; and

WHEREAS as a result of the adoption of By-law No. 1045-2006 at its meeting held on September 27, 2006, Toronto City Council established new committees of Council and the Community Services Committee no longer exists; and

WHEREAS the Executive Committee of Toronto City Council is now the Council committee best suited to address emergency planning and management issues;

The Council of the City of Toronto HEREBY ENACTS as follows:

- 1. Chapter 59, Emergency Planning of the City of Toronto Municipal Code (the "Chapter") is amended by deleting the definition "CSC" contained in § 59-1 of the Chapter.
- 2. Section 59-1 of the Chapter is further amended by inserting the following definition in alphabetical order in the section:
 - Executive Committee The Executive Committee of the Council of the City of Toronto or any successor committee responsible for emergency management and planning issues.
- 3. The Chapter is further amended by substituting the words "Executive Committee" for all references to the "CSC" throughout the Chapter.
- **4.** Subsection A of § 59-2 of the Chapter is deleted and the following substituted:
 - A. The persons from time to time holding the following positions in the Corporation, or their successors, shall be members of the Committee:
 - (1) The Mayor.
 - (2) The Deputy Mayor.
 - (3) The City Manager.
 - (4) The two Deputy City Managers.
 - (5) The Deputy City Manager and Chief Financial Officer.

- (6) The Chief and General Manager of Emergency Medical Services.
- (7) The Chief Building Official and Executive Director of Building.
- (8) The Chief Corporate Officer.
- (9) The City Solicitor.
- (10) The Executive Director of Technical Services.
- (11) The Fire Chief and General Manager of Fire Services.
- (12) The General Manager of Parks, Forestry and Recreation.
- (13) The General Manager of Shelter, Support and Housing Administration.
- (14) The General Manager of Transportation Services.
- (15) The General Manager of Toronto Water.
- (16) The Manager, Office of Emergency Management.
- (17) The Medical Officer of Health.
- (18) The Treasurer.

ENACTED AND PASSED this 13th day of December, A.D. 2007.

GLORIA LINDSAY LUBY,

Deputy Speaker

ULLI S. WATKISS

City Clerk

(Corporate Seal)