Authority: MM20.27, moved by Councillor Gord Perks, seconded by Mayor Olivia Chow, as adopted by City of Toronto Council on July 24 and 25, 2024 City Council voted in favour of this by-law on July 25, 2024 Written approval of this by-law was given by Mayoral Decision 17-2024 dated July 25, 2024

## CITY OF TORONTO

## BY-LAW 874-2024

To amend By-law 389-2019, as amended, to appoint Frank Stirpe, Tony D'Amico and Anthony De Francesca as Deputy Chief Building Officials for the City of Toronto; to revoke the appointment of Nick Samonas and Sandra Burrows as Deputy Chief Building Official for the City of Toronto; and to make provisions for when the Chief Building Official is absent and unable to fulfill their duties.

Whereas Subsection 3(2) of the Building Code Act, 1992 requires council of each municipality to appoint a Chief Building Official; and

Whereas under Section 77 of the Legislation Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.21, as amended, the power to appoint a person to a public office includes the power to remove the person and the power to appoint a deputy with the same powers as the holder of the office, subject to specified conditions, or with limited powers as specified; and

Whereas under Section 67 of the Legislation Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.21, as amended, words in the singular include the plural; and

Whereas City Council appointed the listed individuals as Deputy Chief Building Officials for the City of Toronto but wishes to remove those appointments; and

Whereas City Council wishes to appoint the listed individuals as Deputy Chief Building Officials for the City of Toronto;

The Council of the City of Toronto enacts:

- 1. Section 2 of By-law 389-2019, as amended, is further amended as follows:
  - A. by deleting the words "Nick Samonas, effective November 10, 2023" and replacing it with the words "Frank Stirpe, immediately";
  - B. by deleting the words "Sandra Burrows, effective October 4, 2019; and" and replacing it with the words "Tony D'Amico, effective immediately"; and
  - C. by adding the following as a new subsection 2(e):
    - e. Anthony De Francesca, effective immediately;

- 2. Section 4 of By-law 389-2019, as amended, is further amended as follows:
  - A. by deleting the words "Nick Samonas" and replacing it with the words "Tony D'Amico"; and
  - B. by deleting the words "Sandra Burrows" and replacing it with the words "Frank Stirpe".
- 3. This by-law comes into effect on the day it is passed by Council.

Enacted and passed on July 25, 2024.

Frances Nunziata, Speaker John D. Elvidge, City Clerk

(Seal of the City)