

# STAFF REPORT ACTION REQUIRED

# Appointment of Chair of the Toronto Transit Commission

Date:	January 9, 2014
То:	City Council
From:	City Clerk
Wards:	All

# SUMMARY

City Council must appoint a new Chair of the Toronto Transit Commission as a result of the resignation of Councillor Karen Stintz effective February 22, 2014.

# RECOMMENDATIONS

#### The City Clerk recommends that:

1. City Council appoint, by ballot if necessary, a new chair of the Toronto Transit Commission from among the Members of Council currently appointed to the Commission, for a term of office ending on November 30, 2014, and until a successor is appointed.

#### Financial Impact

There is no financial impact associated with this report.

#### **DECISION HISTORY**

On March 5, 2012 City Council amended the composition of the Toronto Transit Commission ("the Commission") to be:

- seven Members of Council and four public members, all appointed by City Council
- a chair to be appointed by City Council from among the Members of Council appointed to the Commission
- a vice chair to be elected by the Commission from among the public members appointed to the Commission

City Council appointed the following Members to the Commission by ballot:

- Councillor Maria Augimeri
- Councillor Raymond Cho
- Councillor Josh Colle
- Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker
- Councillor Peter Milczyn
- Councillor John Parker
- Councillor Karen Stintz

City Council appointed the following Member as chair, from among the Members appointed to the Commission:

• Councillor Karen Stintz

Subsequently, on October 30, 2012, City Council appointed the following four persons as public members of the Commission (2012.CA19.1):

- Maureen Adamson
- Nick Di Donato
- Alan Milliken Heisey
- Anju Kumar Virmani

The relevant decisions can be found here:

- <u>http://app.toronto.ca/tmmis/viewAgendaItemHistory.do?item=2012.EX16.8</u>
- <u>http://app.toronto.ca/tmmis/viewAgendaItemHistory.do?item=2012.CA19.1</u>

## **ISSUE BACKGROUND**

Councillor Karen Stintz has resigned as chair of the Toronto Transit Commission effective February 22, 2014. Councillor Stintz has resigned the office of Chair only, and she has not resigned as a member of the Commission.

# COMMENTS

City Council should proceed to fill the vacancy in the office of chair, by ballot if necessary.

In accordance with its previous decision, City Council should select a chair from among the remaining Members of Council currently appointed to the Commission:

- Councillor Maria Augimeri
- Councillor Raymond Cho
- Councillor Josh Colle
- Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker
- Councillor Peter Milczyn
- Councillor John Parker

If there are two or more nominees for the position of Chair, City Council may choose to use a ballot to vote. As secret ballots are not permitted by law, the City Clerk will read the ballots aloud and record them in the minutes of the meeting.

City Council should also note that under the Council Procedures, the Speaker and the four at-large members of the Executive Committee are not eligible to serve as TTC Chair. Since none of these Members (i.e., Councillors Nunziata, Crawford, Crisanti, DiGiorgio and Leon) currently serve on the Commission, this should not affect Council's selection process.

#### CONTACT

John D. Elvidge, Director, Secretariat, City Clerk's Office 416-392-8641, jelvidge@toronto.ca

## SIGNATURE

City Clerk

# ATTACHMENTS

1. Resignation letter from Councillor Karen Stintz dated December 12, 2013