

Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Councillor Maria Augimeri
Councillor Ana Bailão
Councillor Michelle Berardinetti
Councillor Christin Carmichael Greb
Councillor Shelley Carroll
Councillor Janet Davis
Councillor Sarah Doucette

Councillor Paula Fletcher
Councillor Mary Fragedakis
Councillor Pam McConnell
Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon
Councillor Frances Nunziata
Councillor Jaye Robinson
Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam

June 12, 2015

To: Executive Committee

From: Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee

Subject: Recipients – 2015 Constance E. Hamilton Award

Recommendation:

That Toronto City Council confirms the selection made by the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee comprised of the Women Members of Council that Andrea Sesum is the recipient of the 2015 Constance E. Hamilton Award.

Summary:

The Constance E. Hamilton Award was established in 1979 and is named after the first woman elected in 1920 to municipal council in Toronto. The award recognizes person(s) who have made a significant contribution to improving the social, economic, cultural and political status of women in Toronto.

The Selection Committee has reviewed the nominations submitted by the public and selected the following recipient for her contributions toward improving the status of women in Toronto:

Andrea Sesum

Andrea Sesum in Paralegal currently practicing in Ontario. Andrea created the first ever equity association for Paralegal Women, the Women's Paralegal Association of Ontario where she currently serves as President. Through this organization Andrea has led the creation of networking, mentorship and education activities for her colleagues and has made significant changes to the experience of women working within the industry. Andrea has also submitted issues of importance to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, the Attorney General, and the Law Society of Upper Canada. Andrea is a strong, giving and innovative leader.

Awards Presentation

The Constance E. Hamilton Award will be presented during the City's Annual Human Rights Awards Ceremony in December when the following awards will also be presented: Aboriginal Affairs Award, the Access Award on Disability Issues, the Pride Award for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Transsexual and Two Spirited Issues and the William P. Hubbard Race Relations Award.

Deputy Mayor Pam McConnell

Pam McConnell

on behalf of the Constance E. Hamilton Award Selection Committee