PW 1.4.2

TORONTO FINANCIAL DISTRICT BIA

100 King St. W., Suite 5700 Toronto, ON, M5X 1C7

T: 416.849.3856 TorontoFinancialDistrict.com



January 5, 2015

Councillor Jaye Robinson Public Works and Infrastructure Committee 100 Queen Street West, Suite A12 Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

Dear Councillor Robinson:

RE: PW1.4 CONGESTION MANAGEMENT PLAN 2014-2018

The Toronto Financial District commends and supports City staff allocating significant resources to implement a plan that capitalizes on advanced technologies and additional staff resources to manage congestion. It is imperative as we move into the 2015 budget process that Council recognize the value of these critical investments and that the 2015 budget includes provisions for proposed initiatives, as well as ensuring additional operating and capital resources are allocated to continue these improvements in subsequent years

The Toronto Financial District BIA has been working extensively with City staff and the previous administration on issues related to congestion management. On June 20<sup>th</sup>, 2014 the Toronto Financial District BIA submitted a letter of support to the Deputy City Manager John Livey for additional investments to be made in the 2015 budget towards items that better manage congestion. The attached letter outlines the growth and density in the downtown core, and that it is critical that the City of Toronto make significant investments to implement measures that optimize the existing transportation network and reduce congestion. We also encourage the City to learn from the City of Burlington as they work with the University of Toronto's Intelligent Transportation System to implement smart traffic lights "MARLIN-ATSC."

These investments are critical to better ensure that we are actively managing congestion and improving mobility in the City.

Should you have any questions, please contact me at <a href="mailto:ghumes@torontofinancialdistrict.com">ghumes@torontofinancialdistrict.com</a>.

Best regards,

Grant Humes Executive Director

cc: Councillor Stephen Holyday

Councillor Chin Lee

Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon

Councilor Ron Moeser Councillor Anthony Perruzza Councillor Gary Crawford

Stephen Buckley