# Re: ED16.8

November 4th 2016

The Honourable Eleanor McMahon Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport 900 Bay Street 9<sup>th</sup> Floor, Hearst Block Toronto, Ontario M7A 2E1

Dear Minister McMahon,

## RE: September 2016 Mandate Letter: Tourism, Culture and Sport

The Toronto Film, Television and Digital Media Board advises the Mayor of Toronto and Toronto City Council on issues of critical importance to ensuring the success and competitiveness of the film, television and digital media sector in Toronto.

As Co-Chairs of the Toronto Film, Television and Digital Media Board, we were pleased to see the acknowledgement of our industry's best year on record and a renewed commitment to our industry in Premier Kathleen Wynne's 2016 mandate letter. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for embracing that commitment wholeheartedly since assuming your position as Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

As you know, the film, television and digital media industry requires a stable and secure tax credit framework as a major component to attract investment alongside our industry-leading studio facilities, artists and technicians. The continued public commitment from your government has already had a tremendous impact on our industry. This has allowed for critical investment decisions to be made for the immediate future which will help maintain, expand and improve what is already a world renowned screen-based industry in Toronto and Ontario, contributing:

- \$1.6 billion in film and television economic activity
- \$1 billion in digital media economic activity
- \$290 million in annual local and provincial tax revenue
- to over 40,000 high quality film, television and digital media jobs in Ontario

The Toronto Film, Television and Digital Media Board looks forward to working with you to ensure the long term success of the film, television and digital media sector in Ontario and build on the major contributions this sector provides to the Ontario economy.

Yours Truly,

Councillor Paula Fletcher Chair Toronto Film, Television and Digital Media Board Councillor, Ward 30 Toronto-Danforth

Jonathan Ahee Co-Chair Toronto Film, Television and Digital Media Board President, NABET 700-M UNIFOR

Enclosures: Toronto Film Television and Digital Media Membership List

cc. The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario The Honourable Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance The Honourable Brad Duguid, MPP Scarborough Centre Mayor John Tory Councillor Michael Thompson, Chair, Economic Development Committee

# Toronto Film, Television & Digital Media Board (Film Board)

The Toronto Film, Television & Digital Media Board (Film Board) provides advice to the Mayor and City Council on ways to strengthen and grow the film, television and digital media industries to ensure the competitiveness and viability of the sector. The Toronto Film Board is made up of 18 members of the public and three members of City Council:

#### **Industry Members**

Ionathan Ahee, President, NABET 700 UNIFOR Neishaw Ali, Co-President, Computer Animation Studios of Ontario Maxine Bailey, Vice-President, Advancement, TIFF Douglas Barrett, Professor, Schulich School of Business David Carter, President, Canada Film Capital Ken Dhaliwal, Partner, LLP, Entertainment Law Group Shelley Erikson, Writer and Executive Producer Valerie Fox, Chief Innovation Officer, The Pivotal Point Victoria Harding, Associate Executive Director, Directors Guild of Canada, Ontario David Hardy, Vice President, Industry and Government Relations, Comweb Corp Sarah Ker-Hornell, President, SKH Consulting Cynthia Lynch, Managing Director and Counsel, FilmOntario Louis Major, Vice President, Technicolor Canada Peter Miller, Chair, Interactive Ontario Jim Mirkopoulos, Vice President, Cinespace Film Studios Monty Montgomerie, Business Agent, I.A.T.S.E. Local 873 Roger Nair, CEO, Roger Nair Productions Warren Ross, National Director, Industrial Relations, Canadian Media Production Association Jennifer Stewart, Director, Marketing & Development, The Academy of Canadian **Cinema and Television** 

## **Council Members**

Councillor Gary Crawford Councillor Paula Fletcher, Chair Councillor Norm Kelly