

Budget Subcommittee - City Hall, Scarborough, East York Civic Centre Consultation

Meeting No. **Contact** Jennifer Forkes, Committee

Administrator

Meeting Date Tuesday, January 12, 2016 Phone 416-392-4666 **Start Time** 9:30 AM E-mail buc@toronto.ca

Location Committee Room 1, City Hall Chair Councillor Gary Crawford

BV5.1

Public Presentations on the 2016 Capital and Operating Budgets at City Hall, January 12, 2016 - 9:30 a.m.

Subcommittee Decision

The Budget Subcommittee for City Hall, Scarborough and East York Civic Centre Consultation received for information the public presentations and the communications submitted by members of the public.

Decision Advice and Other Information

The Chair welcomed the Grade 5 and 6 students from Mountview Alternative School.

Summary

The Budget Subcommittee for City Hall, Scarborough Civic Centre and East York Civic Centre Consultation will hear public presentations on the 2016 Capital and Operating Budgets at City Hall, January 12, 2016 at 9:30 a.m.

At its meeting on November 13, 2015, the Budget Committee established two subcommittees to hear the public deputations on the 2016 Capital and Operating Budgets at Scarborough, North York, Etobicoke, East York and York Civic Centres and City Hall, and made appointments to the Subcommittees as follows:

Name of Subcommittee	Composition	Meeting Dates, Locations and Times
Budget Subcommittee for City Hall, Scarborough Civic Centre and East York Civic Centre Consultation	Councillor Crawford (Chair) Councillor Layton Councillor Carroll Councillor Berardinetti	January 12, 2016 City Hall 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards January 13, 2016

		Scarborough Civic Centre 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards
		January 14, 2016
		East York Civic Centre
		3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards
Budget Subcommittee for	Councillor Campbell (Chair)	January 12, 2016
Etobicoke Civic Centre, North York Civic Centre,	Councillor Di Ciano	Etobicoke Civic Centre
and York Civic Centre Consultation	Councillor Pasternak	3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards
		January 13, 2016
		North York Civic Centre
		3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards
		January 14, 2016
		York Civic Centre
		3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and 6:00 p.m. onwards

Communications

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Tyrell McIntosh (BV.Supp.BV5.1.1)

(January 12, 2016) Letter from Heather Nicolson-Morrison, Executive Director, COTAPSA (BV.New.BV5.1.2)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57993.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Letter from Geoff Kettel and Cathie Macdonald, Co-Chairs, Federation of North Toronto Residents' Associations (FONTRA) (BV.New.BV5.1.3)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57994.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Matthew Kofsky, Toronto Region Board of Trade (BV.New.BV5.1.4)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57995.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Matthew Kofsky, Toronto Region Board of Trade (BV.New.BV5.1.5)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57996.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Sheila Block, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives Ontario Office (BV.New.BV5.1.6)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57997.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Anya Rodine and Chloe Brussé, Students, Mountview Alternative School (BV.New.BV5.1.7)

(January 11, 2016) Letter from Michael Polanyi, Community Development Worker, Children's Aid Society of Toronto (BV.New.BV5.1.8)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-57999.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Maureen O'Reilly, President, Local 4948 (BV.New.BV5.1.9)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Alice Schonblum, Toronto Public Library Workers Union (BV.New.BV5.1.10)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Tori Macdonald, Toronto Public Library Workers Union (BV.New.BV5.1.11)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Jean Lim-O'Brien and Neil Sinclair Applegrove Community Complex (BV.New.BV5.1.12)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-58003.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Susan Crocker, Toronto Arts

Council (BV.New.BV5.1.13)

(January 11, 2016) Submission from Lalaine Aquino (BV.New.BV5.1.14)

(January 11, 2016) Submission from Hamish Wilson (BV.New.BV5.1.15)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Phyllis Creighton (BV.New.BV5.1.16)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Jane Mercer, Co-ordinator, Toronto Coalition for Better Child Care (BV.New.BV5.1.17)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Tony Araujo (BV.New.BV5.1.18)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Mary Hynes (BV.New.BV5.1.19)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from JP Hornick (BV.New.BV5.1.20)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Frank Ramagnano, President, Toronto Professional Fire Fighter's Association (BV.New.BV5.1.21)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Paul Codd (BV.New.BV5.1.22)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Joyce Rankin, Street Health (BV.New.BV5.1.23)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Sam Moini (BV.New.BV5.1.24)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Leila Sarangi, Co-Chair, Violence Against Women

Transitional Housing and Support Program Network, Toronto (Women's Habitat) (BV.New.BV5.1.25)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2016/bv/comm/communicationfile-58041.pdf)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Liz Forsberg (BV.New.BV5.1.26)

(January 12, 2016) Submission from Richard Lee (BV.New.BV5.1.27)

Speakers

Tim Maguire, President, Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 79

Mark McLean, President, Toronto Real Estate Board

Mauro Ritacca, Senior Manager, Government Relations, Toronto Real Estate Board

Sheila Block, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives

Anya Rodine, Mountview Alternative School

Chloe Brussé, Mountview Alternative School

Michael Rosenberg

Maureen O'Reilly, President, Toronto Public Library Workers Union - Local 4948

Alice Schonblum, Toronto Public Library Workers Union

Tori Macdonald, Toronto Public Library Workers Union - Local 4948

Janet De Silva, President and CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade

Heather Nicolson-Morrison, Executive Director, City of Toronto Administrative Professional Services Association

Michael Polanyi, Community Development Worker, Children's Aid Society of Toronto

Susan Crocker, Chair, Toronto Arts Council

Susan Wright, Director and CEO, Toronto Arts Council

Richard Lee

Jean Lim-O'Brien, Applegrove Board Member, Applegrove Community Complex

Neil Sinclair

Don Middleton

Phyllis Creighton, Toronto Raging Grannies

Kate Chung, Toronto Raging Grannies

Dee Stapleton, Toronto Raging Grannies

Jane Mercer, Toronto Coalition for Better Child Care

Tony Araujo

Sean Meagher, Social Planning Toronto

Mary Hynes

The Reverend Maggie Helwig, Church of St. Stephen-in-the-Fields

The Reverend Andrea Budgey, Trinity College, University of Toronto, Anglican Dioceso of

Toronto

Barry Hughson, National Ballet of Canada

Adrian Fung, Toronto Symphomy Orchestra

Viktoria Bitto, RECE

Frank Ramagnano, Toronto Professional Fire Fighters Association

Damien Walsh

Nicholas Volk, Chair, At Home NP Housing Corp

Susan Gapka, TransLobby Group

Ali Abdurahman

Liz Forsberg, Art Starts - Yorkdale Community Arts Centre

Paul Codd

Hamish Wilson

Franz Hartmann, Toronto Environmental Alliance

Joyce Rankin, Street Health

Geoff Kettel, Federation of North Toronto Residents Association - FoNTRA

Sam Moini

Cathy Gatlin

Jonas Spring, Landscape Ontario Horticutural Trade Association (Toronto Chapter)

Paul Sekhon

Neil Shorey, AGM, City Taxi

Saiid Mughal

Jamshid Pazouki, Taxi Plate Owner / Operator

John Gray, Yonge Street Mission

Teresa Tolak

Stella Kargiannakis

Mark Shapiro, Board of Habitat Services

Esther Mwangi, Dream Team

Councillor Sarah Doucette

Councillor Janet Davis

Councillor Joe Cressy

Councillor Gord Perks

Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti

Councillor Jim Karygiannis