City Council

Motion without Notice

MM22.20	ACTION			Ward:All
---------	--------	--	--	----------

Appointment of Public Member as Chair, Toronto Hydro Board - by Councillor Michelle Holland, seconded by Deputy Mayor Denzil Minnan-Wong

* Notice of this Motion has not been given. A two-thirds vote is required to waive notice.

* This Motion is subject to referral to the Corporations Nominating Panel. A two-thirds vote is required to waive referral.

* This Motion has been deemed urgent by the Chair.

Recommendations

Councillor Michelle Holland, seconded by Deputy Mayor Denzil Minnan-Wong, recommends that:

1. City Council nominate David McFadden as Chair of the Toronto Hydro Board of Directors for a term of office ending on December 10, 2017 and until a successor is appointed.

Summary

City Council at its meeting on December 9 and 10, 2015, in appointing public members to the Toronto Hydro Board, amended the shareholder direction to Toronto Hydro to permit one-year terms in that instance:

http://app.toronto.ca/tmmis/viewAgendaItemHistory.do?item=2015.CC11.8

City Council subsequently appointed:

- two public members to the Toronto Hydro Board of Directors for one-year terms that end on December 10, 2016, including David Williams, the Board Chair;

- one public member for a one-year term that starts on December 11, 2016; and

- five public members for two-year terms ending on December 10, 2017 and until successors are appointed.

David McFadden is currently appointed to the Hydro Board for a term that ends on December 10, 2017 and until a successor is appointed. This Motion recommends that City Council nominate David McFadden to serve as Chair of the Hydro Board for the balance of his current appointment. This Motion is urgent as the appointment of the current Toronto Hydro Board Chair will end on December 10, 2016, which is before the December Council meeting.

Background Information (City Council)

Member Motion MM22.20