

Decision Letter

Budget Subcommittee - City Hall, Scarborough, East York Civic Centre Consultation

Meeting No. 15 Contact Jennifer Forkes, Committee

Administrator

Meeting DateTuesday, January 10, 2017Phone416-392-4666Start Time9:30 AME-mailbuc@toronto.ca

Location Committee Room 1, City Hall **Chair** Councillor Gary Crawford

BV15.1	ACTION	Received		
--------	--------	----------	--	--

Public Presentations on the 2017 Capital and Operating Budgets at City Hall, January 10, 2017 - 9:30 a.m.

Subcommittee Decision

The Budget Subcommittee for City Hall, Scarborough and East York Civic Centre Consultation received for information the public presentations and the communications submitted by members of the public.

Summary

The Budget Subcommittee for City Hall, Scarborough and East York Civic Centres Consultation will hear public presentations on the 2017 Capital and Operating Budgets at City Hall, January 10, 2017 at 9:30 a.m.

At its meeting on November 18, 2016, the Budget Committee established two subcommittees to hear the public deputations on the 2017 Capital and Operating Budgets at Scarborough, North York, Etobicoke, East York and York Civic Centres and City Hall, and made appointments to the Subcommittees as follows:

2017 Budget Public Deputation Meetings				
LOCATION	DATE	SESSIONS		
Scarborough Civic Centre	January 5, 2017	Session 1 – 3:00 p.m. Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.		
Etobicoke Civic Centre	January 5, 2017	Session 1 – 3:00 p.m. Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.		
North York Civic Centre	January 9, 2017	Session 1 – 3:00 p.m. Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.		
East York Civic Centre	January 9, 2017	Session 1 – 3:00 p.m. Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.		
		Session 1 – 3:00 p.m.		

York Civic Centre	January 10, 2017	Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.
City Hall	January 10, 2017	Session 1 – 9:30 a.m. Session 2 – 6:00 p.m.

Communications

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Heather Nicholson-Morrison, Executive Director, COTAPSA (BV.New.BV15.1.1)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64740.pdf)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Maureen O'Reilly, President, TPLWU Local 4948 (BV.New.BV15.1.2)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64741.pdf)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Lyn Adamson, ClimateFast (BV.New.BV15.1.3)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64742.pdf)

(January 9, 2017) Submission from Geoff Kettel and Cathie Macdonald, Co-Chairs, Federation of North Toronto Residents' Associations (FoNTRA) (BV.New.BV15.1.4)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64743.pdf)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Jacoba Knaapen, Executive Director, Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) (BV.New.BV15.1.5)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64744.pdf)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Miriam Garfinkle (BV.New.BV15.1.6)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Anne Egger, Regent Park Community Health Centre (BV.New.BV15.1.7)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Walaa Taha (BV.New.BV15.1.8)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Alice Schonblum (BV.New.BV15.1.9)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Herman Ellis, Acting Executive Director, Scadding Court Community Centre (BV.New.BV15.1.10)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64764.pdf)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Hamish Wilson (BV.New.BV15.1.11)

(January 10, 2017) Submission from Louis March, Founder, Zero Gun Violence

Movement (BV.New.BV15.1.12)

(http://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2017/bv/comm/communicationfile-64809.pdf)

Speakers

Tim Syrianos, Senior Manager, Government Relations, Toronto Real Estate Board

Von Palmer, Cheif Communications and Government Affairs Officer, Toronto Real Estate Board

Susan Crocker, Chair, Toronto Arts Council

Claire Hopkins, Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Arts Foundation Board

Ali Abdurahman

Valerie Miles, Chair, Government Relations Committee, Ontario Real Estate Association (OREA)

Matthew Thornton, Director of Government Relations, Ontario Real Estate Association (OREA)

Frank Ramagnano, President, Toronto Professional Fire Fighters' Association

Charles Falzon, Board Member, Toronto Arts Council

Maggie Helwig, Reverend, Church of St Stephen-in-the-Fields, Social Justice and Advocacy Committee, Anglican Diocese of Toronto

Rvan Weston, Social Justice and Advocacy Consultant, Diocese of Toronto

Reverend Andrea Budgey, Poverty Reduction Subcommittee, Anglican Diocese of Toronto

Michael Rosenberg

Patricia Reid

Cathryn Gregor, Executive Director, Canada's National Ballet School

Amy Mushinski, Manager, Government Relations, Canadian Opera Company

Robert Lamb, Managing Director, Canadian Opera Company

Hugh Crosthwait

Heather Nicolson Morrison, Executive Director, COTAPSA

Andrea Villanueva, St. Stephen's House

Heather McGregor, YWCA Toronto

Mark Aston, Chair, Toronto Alliance to End Homelessness, and Executive Director, Fred

Victor

Ananya Ohri, Regent Park Film Festival

Richard Fung, Regent Park Film Festival

Lyn Adamson, ClimateFast

Sheila Block, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives Ontario Office

Derek George

Rafi Aaron, Co-chair, Beth Sholom/Beth Tzedec Out of the Cold Shelter

Opal Sparks, Toronto Seniors Forum

Maureen O'Reilly, President, TPLWU Local 4948

Jane Mercer, Toronto Coalition for Better Childcare

Sandi Guignard, St Stephen's Community House

Toby Nicol, Peer Header

Brandon Haynes

Jacoba Knaapen, Executive Director, Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA)

Kelly Staughan, Executive Director, The Toronto Fringe Festival

Eunice Rodrigues

Josie Ricciardi, Regent Park Community Health Centre

Janice Bellmore

Cerima Wright, Adelaide Women's Resource Centre

Rarenka Lee, Adelaide Resource Centre for Women

Miriam Garfinkle

Alice Schonblum, Toronto Public Library

Sheldon D'Silva, Toronto Public Library

Sandra McCallum

Herman Ellis, Scadding Court Community Centre

Dr. Michaela Beder, Inner City Health Associates

Deborah Hall

Julie Penasse

Nicolette Knight, Ward Representative, Duke of Connaught Public School

Pat Cross

Dan Starnino, Cieslok Media Ltd.

Leona Lowe

Andrea Hatala, Commitment to Community (C2C)

Jonathan Ahee, NABET 700-M UNIFOR

David Hardy, Vice President, Industry and Government Relations, William F. White

International Inc.

Hamish Wilson

Sean Meagher, Executive Director, Social Planning Toronto

Chris Winter

Tim Maguire, President, CUPE Local 79

Jennifer Chandran

Jared Kolb, Executive Director, Cycle Toronto

Chander Chaddah, Friends of Sorauren Park

Deidrie Gardner

Alejandra Lara, Withrow Childcare Centre

Kavita Aggarwal, Nutrition Coordinator, Ogden Junior Public School

Daryl Chong, President, Greater Toronto Apartment Association

Miguel Avila-Velarde, Toronto Copwatch

Franz Hartmann, Executive Director, Toronto Environmental Alliance

Louis March, Founder, Zero Gun Violence Movement

Donna Harold

Kiley Fleming, Youth Program Coordinator, APCC

Samuel Egonu, 180 Change Street

Councillor Sarah Doucette

Councillor Joe Cressy

Councillor Pam McConnell

Councillor Janet Davis

Councillor Gord Perks