

President

Tim Syrianos

President-Elect

Gurcharan (Garry) Bhaura

Past President

Larry Cerqua

Directors

Ron Abraham

Paul Baron

Michael Collins

Marco Da Silva

Elizabeth Darbyshire

Howard Drukarsh

Paul Etherington

Gareth Jones

John D.K. Lusink

Michelle Makos

Nito Morcos-Brown

Lisa Patel

Brian Torry

Chief Executive
Officer

John DiMichele



1400 Don Mills Road
Toronto, Ontario
Canada
M3B 3N1
Tel: (416) 443-8100
Fax: (416) 443-0797
www.TREBhome.com

August 31, 2017

Attn: Mr. David Shiner, Chair Planning and Growth Management Committee 100 Queen Street West, 10th FL, West Tower, City Hall Toronto, ON, M5H 2N2

Dear Mr. Shiner,

The real estate industry has been surprised by the recent proposed inclusion of 258 commercial "Main Street" mid-town properties on the City's Heritage Register.

The Toronto Real Estate Board (TREB), which represents close to 50,000 commercial and residential REALTORS® from across the Greater Toronto Area, would like to take this opportunity to comment on this proposal as it impacts a significant number of commercial properties in Toronto.

Although TREB does not dispute the merits of heritage designations, we are concerned that such a decision, representing not only a new approach to listing properties, but involving an unprecedented number of properties at one time, has been made in the absence of a fair notification and consultation process, excluding the public, industry and property owners.

Given the reasons noted above, we kindly request that this proposal be deferred by the Planning and Growth Management Committee to allow time for a proper notification and consultation process involving all stakeholders, and that TREB to receive notices on any updates to this proposal and any associated reports in the future.

Thank you for your consideration, and should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact Mauro Ritacca, TREB's Senior Manager of Government Relations at mritacca@trebnet.com or 416-443-8151.

Sincerely,

Larry Cerqua

Government Relations Committee Chair

James Brance