

June 9, 2020

IE13.5.4

Attention: Nancy Martins 10<sup>th</sup> floor, West Tower, City Hall 100 Queen Street West Toronto, ON M5H 2N2 By email to: <u>iec@toronto.ca</u>

## RE: IE13.5 Yonge-Eglinton Construction Hub: Street Occupation Permit Fee Revisions

Dear Chair James Pasternak and fellow Councillors,

The South Eglinton Ratepayers' and Residents' Association (SERRA) represents the community in the SE quadrant of the Y-E Secondary Plan area. SERRA has proudly served our community for 50+ years.

We strongly support the request from Councillors Mike Colle and Josh Matlow to place the entire Midtown Construction Hub area into the "Area AA" category as it relates to street occupancy permit fees, effective immediately.

With more than 30 developments under construction and many more applications expected in Mid-town, we are incredibly pleased with the appointment of Stuart McGhie in his position as Work Zone Traffic Coordinator for the Mid-town Hub. Stuart has been able to bring effective coordination and control of area wide construction traffic, staging and management for all construction sites in the Mid-town area and there is no longer a distinction whether a site is on a side street or on one of the Avenues.

Much of the construction is impacting side streets and driving traffic (vehicular and pedestrian) onto adjacent Mid-town roads to avoid these sites, which adds justification to treat ALL construction sites the same.

We appreciate the extra effort the City has undertaken in managing the many construction activities, which is of tremendous benefit not only to the residents,

but equally to the local developers. Most important, it is providing for a much safer environment for everyone in Mid-town.

We thank the Mayor, our City Councillors and City Transportation Services for the appointment of a dedicated Work Zone Traffic Coordinator, Stuart McGhie and would suggest that an equalization of the street occupancy fee structure for the Mid-town Hub into the "Area AA" category would be a small contribution towards the City's efforts and extra costs.

Respectfully submitted,

Andy Gort, President, SERRA

cc. Mayor John Tory, Councillor Mike Colle Councillor Josh Matlow Councillor Jaye Robinson Barbara Gray, General manager, Transportation Services Gregg Lintern, Chief Planner and Executive Director, City Planning Division SERRA Board and Greg Russell, SERRA Traffic Safety Coordinator