From: <u>SLNA President</u>

To: Mayor Tory; Councillor Ainslie; Councillor Bailao; Councillor Bradford; Councillor Carroll; Councillor Colle8;

Councillor Crawford; Councillor Cressy; Councillor Filion; Councillor Fletcher; Councillor MFord; Councillor Grimes; Councillor Holyday; Councillor Lai; Councillor Layton; Councillor Mantas; Councillor Matlow; Councillor McKelvie; Councillor Minnan-Wong; Councillor Nunziata; Councillor Pasternak; Councillor Perks; Co

Perruzza; Councillor Jaye Robinson; Councillor Thompson; Councillor Wongtam; councilmeeting

<u>Tracey Cook; Tom Davidson; Edward LaRusic; Gregg Lintern; Chris Murray; SLNA SLNA</u>

Subject: EX 23.3 Provincial Transit Oriented Communities Program -- Letter from SLNA Board of Directors

Date: May 4, 2021 2:00:55 PM

Attachments: 210504 SLNA TOC letter to council.pdf

Please see the attached letter from the SLNA Board of Directors in respect of agenda item EX23.3 -- Provincial Transit Oriented Communities Program -- at this week's meeting of the City Council.

The Board also requests, if available, that a public link to this submission be provided.

Thank you,

Cc:

Stewart Linton

President, SLNA



May 4, 2021

TO: Toronto City Council

RE: Provincial Transit Oriented Communities Program

AGENDA ITEM: EX 23.3

RECOMMENDATION: The Executive Committee recommends that:

1. City Council receive the report (April 15, 2021) from the Deputy City Manager, Infrastructure and Development Services for information.

Dear Mayor Tory and Members of City Council:

The St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association (SLNA) is a not-for-profit community organization incorporated in 1982, which represents the interests of 30,000+ people who live in the St. Lawrence neighbourhood. It is a founding member of the West Don Lands Committee.

SLNA supports the staff report before you today but urges you to go beyond "receiving" the report. SLNA requests that you direct immediate and ongoing action from City staff to negotiate, as strongly as possible, for inclusion in the process those elements of responsible development which have characterized SLNA's engagement with the First Parliament Site over the past two decades:

- community consultation throughout the process beginning immediately and thereafter
 on a regular and ongoing basis the community both wants and needs to be involved;
- the inclusion of the District public library, which has formed one consistent cornerstone of the public uses contemplated for this site;
- a proportion of affordable housing that is significant, as befits a substantial new community built on public lands;
- a suitable archaeological assessment that can inform the most appropriate way to
 preserve and celebrate the history of both the Town of York and of Upper Canada that is
 contained within this site.

SLNA appreciates that the City is not acting from a position of particular strength in its dealings with the Province and its Agencies related not only to the First Parliament site, but to each and every site where the banner of a Transit Oriented Community (TOC) will be raised by the Province. Nevertheless, SLNA requests that City Council use every tool at its disposal to ensure that the City continues to play a meaningful part in these TOC discussions moving forward.

SLNA supports the two-pronged needs for expanded transit and responsible development and acknowledges that at major transit hubs there is both a desire and an opportunity to stretch the intensification norms.

The Association has a long track record of providing substantive input to development projects that makes the final products better, and wants the opportunity to do so here.

230 The Esplanade, Toronto ON M5E 1T4

Please do more than simply "receive" this report. Advocate on behalf of the St. Lawrence neighbourhood, the West Don Lands, the Distillery district, Corktown – and all affected neighbourhoods. Find a way to make your and our voices heard!

Sincerely,

Board of Directors

St. Lawrence Neighbourhood Association

cc: Mayor John Tory

Members of City Council:

Paul Ainslie Ana Bailão Brad Bradford
Shelley Carroll Mike Colle Gary Crawford
Joe Cressy John Filion Paula Fletcher
Michael Ford Mark Grimes Stephen Holyday
Cynthia Lai Mike Layton Nick Mantas

Josh Matlow Jennifer McKelvie Denzil Minnan-Wong

Frances Nunziata James Pasternak Gord Perks

Anthony Perruzza Jaye Robinson Michael Thompson

Kristyn Wong-Tam
Councillor's Staff:
Tom Davidson
Edward LaRusic
City Managers:
Tracy Cook
Greg Lintern
Chris Murray

Marilyn Toft (councilmeeting@toronto.ca)

SLNA Board of Directors:

Ms. S. FishleighMr. S. LintonMs. S. McMillanMs. D. PattersonMs. G. SicilianoMs. T. Tenenbaum

Ms. R. Tilson Ms. D. Wang