Councillor Jaye Robinson

M Toronto

Ward 15, Don Valley West Chair, Toronto Transit Commission City Hall, 100 Queen Street West 2nd Floor, Suite A12 Toronto, Ontario M5H 2N2

Tel: 416-395-6408 Fax: 416-395-6439 councillor_robinson@toronto.ca www.jayerobinson.ca @jayerobinson

January 24, 2023

North York Community Council North York Civic Centre 5100 Yonge Street North York, ON M2N 5V7

RE: Recipient of the 2023 Agnes Macphail Award

Dear Chair and Colleagues,

The Agnes Macphail Award was established by the Borough of East York to annually recognize an outstanding volunteer who upheld the values and causes of Agnes Macphail and who live within the boundaries of the former borough.

The Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee met, as established in the Toronto City Council approved selection process, on January 9 and 23, 2023 to review the nominations received and to select this year's award recipient. The Committee unanimously selected Shakhlo Sharipova as their 2023 Agnes Macphail Award recipient.

A long-time leader in Thorncliffe Park, Shakhlo is dedicated to engaging with her community and advocating for equitable local programming, accessible infrastructure, and tenant rights. Her work as founder of the Thorncliffe Park Autism Support Network and leader of the Coalition of Women in Leadership, a grassroots group of female leaders in Thorncliffe and Flemingdon Park, has supported hundreds of local children and families through volunteer-led food drives, summer camps, and education programs.

Shakhlo's ongoing commitment to serving and engaging her community fully embodies the spirit of the Agnes Macphail Award, and I am so pleased that she is the recipient of this year's recognition.

RECOMMENDATIONS

1. City Council approve Shakhlo Sharipova as the 2023 Agnes Macphail Award recipient.

Sincerely,

Dine

Jaye Robinson City Councillor Ward 15 – Don Valley West