93 Communications were received from January 24, 2024 10:52 a.m. to January 29, 2024 at 11:01 p.m. with text similar to the following:

Dear Mayor Olivia Chow and my City Councillor,

Public transit must get faster and more reliable to fix traffic congestion and meet our climate goals. More people will choose to take the TTC if they can rely on it.

That's why it's time to put the "rapid" in RapidTO! More transit-only lanes will increase ridership, reduce crowding, and help Toronto meet its 2040 Net Zero targets.

Toronto's plan to install priority measures on more bus and streetcar routes has been stalled for too long. A bus lane on Jane Street was due to be installed in 2021. Fast-forward to 2024, and there are still more rounds of consultation planned for this route.

A new report* about the RapidTO plan recommends designing and consulting the public about three more routes, but there are no timelines for when the next RapidTO route will be implemented! And Steeles West, which is supposed to be one of the next corridors, has been delayed indefinitely.

I encourage you to vote in favour of speeding up study, design, and consultation work on all four of the next RapidTO routes in 2024: Finch East, Lawrence East, Dufferin, and Steeles West, and to fast-track at least one route for installation this year.

Bus lanes will make transit more reliable, but they should not make transit less accessible. When bus lanes were installed on Eglinton East, Kingston, and Morningside, approximately 40% of local bus stops were planned for removal, which resulted in the TTC no longer meeting its own service standards on some parts of the route.** I urge you to clearly communicate about which bus stops are planned for removal as part of a RapidTO plan, versus which stops are planned for removal as part of VisionZero.

It's been almost four years since RapidTO was first introduced. It's not fair to transit users to wait years longer just to complete more study of the next RapidTO routes.

Emails from:

John Christian Salvamante

Quinci Best

Thom Wright

Ashleigh Sullivan

Allen Braude

Will Sherman

Marika Robillard

Courtney Lancaster

Fred Spek

Shivabalan Nagakumaran

Michelle Gholizadeh

Jamie Strong

Maryam Siddiqi

Jacqueline Horne

Andrew Townsend

Julian Cappelli

A. Pope

Yobie Saravanabayan

Sarah Niedoba

Ruth Felder

Naveen Minai

Christine Gebel

Michael Rein

Nadira Sheralam

Catherine Oliver

Gary F Horenkamp

Mauricio Argote-Cortes

Vicki Bedford

Carol Schwartz

Roslyn Rus

Terri-Lynn Langdon

David Lev

Laura Toth

Matt Welke

Bailey Chui

Janna Eggebeen

Estelle Berry

Joe Craib

Carole Fischer

Maureen Kapral

Sharon Anderson

Holly Kirkconnell

Lyn Adamson

Efthimia Vlachoyannacos

Brendan Hendel-McCarthy

Guilherme Nishizawa

August Puranauth

Karen Mergler

Laurna Germscheid

Jeremy C

Brian Conway

Sini Maury

Ramsey Kilani

Bilal Akhtar

Joseph Davede

Liam Morley

Harris Rollit

Shawn Eghterafi

Anne Keary

Walter Lis

Brenden Hurley

Mitchell Goodman

Zachary Rubin

Alexander Lisman

Joshua Rosen

Laurence Olivo

Elisabeth Jocz

Joy Edwards

Sadie Booth

Lesley Mak

Luciano Iogna

Stuart Rogers

Chris Lee

John Deviney

Derek Seabrooke

Cindy Loch-Drake

Murray Lumley

Gene Simon

Lara Arabian

Lorraine Csenge

Sam Tamimi

Paul Genyk-Berezowsky

Terrill Maguire

Eduardo Diconca

Sylvain Beaudry Elizabeth Keenan Penina Coopersmith Maisa Barbosa Friday Saleh Rob Italiano Julia Campbell-Such Terrill Maguire Christopher Gapski