227 Communications were received from April 3, 2025 2:19 p.m. to April 9, 2025 11:12 a.m. with text similar to the following:

TO: Infrastructure and Environment <iec@toronto.ca>

RE: Give Transit the Green Light - Re: IE20.3

Dear members of the Infrastructure and Environment Committee and my City Councillor,

Fast, reliable, and accessible public transit is the key to tackling congestion. When the \$12.6 billion Eglinton Crosstown and \$2.5+ billion Finch West LRTs finally open after years of delay, transit riders expect them to be as fast and reliable as possible.

That's why I was surprised to learn that these rapid transit lines will be stuck waiting at red lights in traffic. Waiting at red lights will be built into their schedules, because Toronto is not using Active Transit Signal Priority.

Please give transit the green light by implementing active signal priority on the Eglinton Crosstown and Finch West LRTs. This means that when a transit vehicle approaches an intersection, a green light will get extended or a red light will be shortened, so that waiting times at traffic lights are minimized. For example, when active transit signal priority was added to the METRO Green Line in Minneapolis, only 5% of trains stopped at signalized intersections.

I was pleased to read Mayor Chow's letter to this committee, urging enforcement and towing of vehicles that block streetcars. Why should one or two drivers hold up hundreds of transit riders?

Please apply this same principle to the LRT projects that have cost the public billions of dollars. Let's tackle congestion by making transit the better way to get around with more frequent service and priority measures for buses, streetcars, and LRTs.

I was also encouraged to learn in the report before you that Toronto continues to expand its transit signal priority system, with 50 additional locations being upgraded or equipped by the end of this year. Yet despite the technology being available, transit signal priority is not being used to its fullest potential: a limited form of priority is activated only when vehicles fall behind schedule.

I await your response and thanks in advance for your consideration of this issue.

(Name of person submitting communication)
(Address and Postal Code of person submitting communication)

P.S. Note to the clerk: Please consider this as correspondence about Item 2025.IE20.3: Congestion Management Plan - 2025 Update.

EMAILS FROM:

Jonathan Lee How Cheong

Grace Rogalski

Audy Noor

Dylan Mah

Maryam Siddiqi

Matthew Freedlander

Gokul B Prasad

Andrew Townsend

Garrett Sun Cheong

Phong Tran

Ethan Feldman

Zack Red

Edward William Rambacal

Mel S

Omid Ghavamian

Madison Maguire

Malcolm Kennedy

Elizabeth Gierl

Kieran Mcgarry

Raymond Kim

Elizabeth Skoll

Santiago Chapa Hernandez

Eric Hau

Clara Luca

Emilia Kolodko

Lisa Roosen-Runge

Patrick Kennedy

David Mejia Monico

Nithursan Elamuhilan

Alisa Weyman

M. MacKellar

Matthew De Luca

Terry Kushnier

Andrew Pope

Dafne Gokcen

Roberta Tevlin

Gillian Kranias

Daniel Wanless

Codetski Jaigobin

Dena Pana

Ilse Kramer

brian levy

Ashwin Mahesh

Colin Powell

Emerson Howitt

Bruce Mitchell

Vusani Masilo

Nicholas Cole

Rene Gonzalez

Terry Kelly

Andrew Wickham

John Leeson

Andy Kramer

Sana Hadi

Arya Rahmani

Tristan Winfield-Hicks

Meagan McNabb

Ross Anderson

Carolyne Barker

marcus dewdney

Ian Irving

Matthew Froggatt

Nahiyan Bakht

Ben Gervais

Trevor McLeod

Nicole Demirov

Jason Karp

Aaron Waugh

Yonatan Genkin

Jerika Coleman

David Liu

Dip Tandel

Colin C

Jason Li

Simon Pulsifer

Michael Olivier

Thomas de boer

Donovan McLeod

Alec Sampaleanu

Jennifer Vachon

Tony Chen

Robert Parton

Kyle Clements

abhijith ponnan

Steven Kideckel

Tong An B.

Jeffery Magat

Jon Belanger

Aaron Janusitis

John George

Dan Nichol

Jessie-Ann Baines

Matthew Humphries

James Bertram

Stefan D

Christopher George

Mazen K

Simon Zhang

Michael S Moraitis

Sean Ryan Rivera

Chris Hutchinson

Brandon Fowler

Alex M

Marco Campos

Tyler Gamvrelis

Brendan McLean

AJ Owens Hughes

Francis Lam

Rohan Mir

Tyler Friesen

Chris Broll

David Mouck

Jack Thain

Shibo L

Tommy Ma

Kelli Charbonneau

Colin MacMillan

Jon Ortega

Casey Freed

Olivera Dragojevic

Alex Bonenfant

Olivier Ulmer

Jaime Gonzalez

Jaxson Khan

Xinlu Ge

Zachary Rubio-Paret

Eric Timm

Zev Shoag

kai Kalliomaki

Zain Solinski

Ryan Lane-Day

Maxime Sawicki

Lindsey Vodarek

Rafael Sologaistoa

Raahul Biswas

Michael Levine

Susan Wall

Nick Shaw

Tim Gokcen

Ben Bateson

Jorge Escobar

Lee Scott

Nicola Charles

S R

Fatima Zahra

Jordan Hicks

Adam C

Mārta Ziemelis

Léo Jourdan

Jeremy W

Virgene Link-New

Matthew Lattavo

M Millar

D. Colt

Chris N

Béatrice Lego

Chris Smithson

Gourav Bingi

Indira Balkissoon

James Duffy

Chris Coates

Pashmina Binder

Lucas Kanabe

Manav Sekhon

Myles Magner

Eric Mills

Mitchell French

P Wright

Joan Semple

Alexandrina Canto Thaler

Edgar Davies-Mills

John Carlaw

Sean Aubin

Jane Stafford

Paul Parillo

Eva Korenkova

Marie Bamford

Siobhan Fitzmaurice

Kent Anjo

Joanna van Bommel

Roger Lobo

Gordon Fitch

Samuel Peluso

Mary Sylwester

Jonathan Lear

Peter de Koning

Daniel Cowling

Debbie Scanlon

Gitta Postigo

Amanda Sonier

Iris Yu

Brian Gettler

Roman Makuch

Andrew Robertson

Young Wook Kwon

John Danielson

Ryan Walsh

Neena Locke

Hannah Hepburn

Ebrahim Agha

Marina Krtinic

Gary Locke

Jacob Pecile

Jennifer Vazquez

Aja Locke

Andrew Lewis

Lucille Sequeira

Daniel Hu

John Dafos

Vic L

Kai Dy

Donovan Hayden

Stephen Clark

Nicole Scott

Criselda Bio

Duy Le

Diana Hooper

Charles Blaquière

Joshua Vande Pol

Danny Harvey

Evan Clare

Janet Bradley

John de Wit

Dylan de la Riviere

Donnie P

Rai N

Megan Kenzie