City of Toronto Logo Decision Letter


Budget Subcommittee for City Hall and Scarborough Civic Centre Consultation

Meeting No. 1   Contact Jennifer Forkes, Committee Administrator
Meeting Date Monday, February 2, 2015
  Phone 416-392-4666
Start Time 9:30 AM
Location Committee Room 1, City Hall
  Chair   Councillor Gary Crawford  






Budget Subcommittee for City Hall and Scarborough Civic Centre Consultation (City Hall)
Subcommittee Decision

The Budget Subcommittee for City Hall and Scarborough Civic Centre Consultation received for information the public presentations and the communications submitted by members of the public.


At its meeting on December 18, 2014, the Budget Committee:


1. Established two subcommittees to hear public deputations on the 2015 Capital, Operating and Rate Supported Budgets at Scarborough, North York, Etobicoke Civic Centres and City Hall, as follows:


Name of Subcommittee


Meeting Dates, Locations and Times

Budget Subcommittee for City Hall and Scarborough Civic Centre Consultation

Councillor Crawford (Chair)

Councillor Berardinetti

Councillor Layton

Councillor Carroll

February 2, 2015

City Hall

9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and

6:00 p.m. onwards

February 3, 2015

Scarborough Civic Centre

3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and

6:00 p.m. onwards

Budget Subcommittee for Etobicoke Civic Centre and North York Civic Centre Consultation

Councillor Campbell (Chair)

Councillor Pasternak

Councillor Di Ciano

February 2, 2015

Etobicoke Civic Centre

3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and

6:00 p.m. onwards

February 3, 2015

North York Civic Centre

3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.; and

6:00 p.m. onwards


2. Directed that an individual can only make one presentation to any of the subcommittee meetings.

(February 2, 2015) E-mail from Karl Sprogis, Arts Etobicoke (BV.New.BV1.1.1)

(February 2, 2015) E-mail from Brian Bobbie, Altech Environmental Consultations Ltd. (BV.New.BV1.1.2)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from George Carter, Acting Refinery Manager, Redpath Sugar (BV.New.BV1.1.3)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Maureen O-Reilly, President PTLWU Local 4948 (BV.New.BV1.1.4)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Paul Scrivener, Toronto Industry Network (BV.New.BV1.1.5)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Jack Brannigan (BV.New.BV1.1.6)
(February 2, 2015) Letter from Susan Nagy, Executive Director, Lakeshore Arts (BV.New.BV1.1.7)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Juan Gomez, VP, Policy, Toronto Region Board of Trade (BV.New.BV1.1.8)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Mary Trapani Hynes, Past Chair, Older Women's Network (BV.New.BV1.1.9)
(February 2, 2015) Letter from Helen Armstrong, Member Advocacy Committee (BV.New.BV1.1.10)
(February 2, 2015) Letter from Mary Tan (BV.New.BV1.1.11)
(February 2, 2015) Letter from Ann Fitzpatrick, BSW, MSW, Supervisor of Community Development and Prevention Program (BV.New.BV1.1.12)

(February 2, 2015) E-mail from Lela Gary, Air Pollution Coalition (BV.New.BV1.1.13)

(February 2, 2015) E-mail from Al Brezina, Executive Director, South Etobicoke Industrial Employers' Association (BV.New.BV1.1.14)

(February 1, 2015) E-mail from Connie Mitchell, President, East York Hockey Association (BV.New.BV1.1.15)

(February 2, 2015) E-mail from Juliet John-Baptiste, Parent, Middle Childhood Matters Coalition (BV.New.BV1.1.16)

(February 1, 2015) Letter from Peter Stevens, Vice President, Supply Chain - Canada, Campbell Company of Canada, submitted by John McKenzie (BV.New.BV1.1.17)

(February 2, 2015) Letter from Pearl Chrimes, on behalf of The Alliance for a Poverty-Free Toronto (BV.New.BV1.1.18)

(February 1, 2015) Letter from Hamish Wilson (BV.New.BV1.1.19)
(February 2, 2015) Letter from Charles Smedmor, CPA, CA, CFE (BV.New.BV1.1.20)

Mary Hynes, Older Women's Network
John Lusink, Toronto Real Estate Board, Chair, Government Relations Committee
Juan Gomez, Vice President, Policy, Toronto Region Board of Trade
Helen Armstrong, Community Development and Social Action Worker, St. Stephen's Community House
Tim Maguire, President, CUPE Local 79
Rob Howarth, Toronto Neighbourhood Centres
Mary Kim Eng Tan, St. Stephen's Community House
Ann Fitzpatrick, Supervisor, Community Development and Prevention Services, Children's Aid Society of Toronto
Karl Sprogis, Arts Etobicoke
Susan Nagy, Lakeshore Arts
Laurie-Shawn Borzovoy, Chair, Urbanarts
Karen Emerson, Volunteer Advisor, East End Arts
Cindy Rozeboom, East End Arts
Elis Ziegler, Manager, Toronto Drop In Network
Kaarina Luoma, Dixon Hall Neighbourhood Services
Claire Hopkinson, Director and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Arts Council
Gaetane Verna, Director, The Power Plant
Tim Whalley, Associate Director, Luminato Festival
Tanya Matanda, Art Gallery of Ontario Youth Council
Juanita Montalvo, Vice-Chair, Canada’s National Ballet School, Canadian Opera Company
Frank Ramagnano, Toronto Professional Fire Fighters Association
Jane Mercer, Toronto Coalition for Better Child Care
John Cartwright, President, Toronto and York Region Labour Council
Pearl Chrimes, Alliance for Poverty Free Toronto
Aislinn Schwartz, Student, Ontario Collation for Better Child Care
Shani Halfon, Interim Co-ordinator, Association Early Childhood Educators Ontario
Andrea Peloso
Max Moore, Community Commonwealth Association
Tommy Lenathen
Brian  Bobbie, Altech Environmental Consultants Ltd.
Paul Scrivener, Toronto Industry Network
Chloe-Marie Brown, Toronto Youth Cabinet
Crystal Damery
Ariel Stagni, Toronto Skateboarding Committee
Jeff Gluck
Alex Mazer, Co-Founder, Better Budget TO
Calvin Henschell, Community Outreach Worker from Regent Park Community Health Centre
John  Clarke, Ontario Coalition Against Poverty
Sigrid Kneve, Ontario Coalition Against Poverty
Richard Dalton, OCAP
Patricia Smiley
Franz Hartmann, Executive Director, Toronto Environmental Alliance
George Carter, Acting Refinery Manager, Redpath Sugar
Al Brezina, Executive Director, South Etobicoke Industrial Employers Association
John McKenzie, Purchasing Manager, Campbell Company of Canada
Hamish Wilson
Jack Brannigan
Lydia Kerr, Coordinator of the Nutrition Program, St. Marys Catholic School
Debbie Field, Executive Director, FoodShare Toronto
Charles Smedmor
James Matheson

Declared Interests

The following member(s) declared an interest:

Councillor Mike Layton - as it relates to Toronto Water, as his partner works for an organization that receives grants from the City to operate the Blue Flag program.