Business Meeting No. 5

Meeting Date:  Thursday, April 11, 2019
Time: 9 a.m.
Location: North York Civic Centre, 5100 Yonge Street, Ontario M2N 5V7
Room: Council Chambers
Chair: Paul Sommerville
Contact: Hsing Yi Chao
Phone: 416-338-3412

Administrative Penalty Tribunal Panel Members

Richard Austin
Sudershen Beri
Deborah Boudreau
Cherie Daniel
Joanne Foot
Cheryl Gaster
Christina Gural
Mumtaz Jiwan
Kathleen Kelly
Randal Montgomery
Nicola Mulima
Jonathan Ng
Sancia Pinto
Andy Radhakant
Vince Scaramuzza
Fizul Sima
Paul Sommerville
Sylvia Verkerk


Accessibility Accommodations for Members of the Public: Administrative Penalty Tribunal staff can arrange for special assistance with some advance notice. If you need special assistance, please call 416-338-2734, or email

Closed Meeting Requirements:  If the Administrative Penalty Tribunal wants to meet in closed session (privately), a member of the panel must make a motion to do so and give the reason why the Committee has to meet privately. (City of Toronto Act, 2006).

Notice to People Writing to the Administrative Penalty Tribunal: The City of Toronto Act, 2006 and the City of Toronto Municipal Code authorize the City of Toronto to collect any personal information in your communication or presentation to City Council or its committees.

The Administrative Penalty Tribunal collects this information to enable it to make informed decisions on the relevant issue(s). If you are submitting letters, faxes, e-mails, presentations or other communications to the Administrative Penalty Tribunal, you should be aware that your name and the fact that you communicated with the Administrative Penalty Tribunal will become part of the public record and will appear on the Toronto Administrative Penalty Tribunal’s website. The Administrative Penalty Tribunal will also make your communication and any personal information in it – such as your postal address, telephone number or e-mail address – available to the public, unless you expressly request the Administrative Penalty Tribunal to remove it.

Aboriginal Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge the land we are meeting on is the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee and the Wendat peoples and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.  We also acknowledge that Toronto is covered by Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit.

Declaration of Interest under the Municipal Conflict of Interest Act

Agenda Item Action Item

APT 5.1

Adoption of March 22 , 2018 Business Meeting Minutes

APT 5.2

Chair’s Update

APT 5.3

Amendments to Notice

APT 5.4

Communication to Parking Enforcement Unit

APT 5.5

Educational Session for the Administrative Penalty Tribunal Panel Members


An educational session for the Administrative Penalty Tribunal Panel Members will be conducted
(The Administrative Penalty Tribunal may go in closed session to discuss this item as the City of Toronto Act, 2006 permits closing a meeting for the education or training of the Members.)

APT 5.6 Closing Remarks