The City of Toronto’s Starter Company Plus grant program provides training, mentoring and advice, and helps small business owners apply for a micro grant of $5,000 through the program’s general business stream. Learn more at an online information session Thursday, May 26, 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. Register today.

The City of Toronto and its partners offer year-round learning opportunities for entrepreneurs and small business owners, from regularly scheduled seminars to large networking events.

Due to COVID-19, these learning opportunities are all being offered online.

B Corps – a national movement of “beneficial” corporations – is made up of entrepreneurs who are proud of their companies’ positive impact, whether it’s improving the livelihoods of their employees, strengthening their community ties, or improving green practices. Learn about B Corp assessment and its novel metrics of success.

Tuesday, June 28
11 a.m. –  1 p.m.

Register

Tuesday, September 20
11 a.m. –  1 p.m.

Register

More consumers than ever before are turning to online shopping for greater convenience, safety and variety. In this webinar, you will learn the basic steps to set up an online store.

Tuesday, June 21
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Tuesday, August 2
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

 

Attend this virtual session to get details about the general business stream of the Starter Company Plus grant program. Offered through the City of Toronto, the program provides training, mentoring and advice, and helps small business owners apply for a micro grant of $5,000.

Thursday, May 26
2:30 – 3:30 p.m.

Register

Learn about SEO strategies that are built using insights from comprehensive audits, keyword research, on-page and organic factors, and proprietary SEO tools.

Thursday, June 23
1 – 2 p.m.

Register

Thursday, October 27
1 – 2 p.m.

Register

Wednesday, December 14
1 – 2 p.m.

Register

Learn how to access Service Canada and enroll in various programs and services for employers. Get information about EI benefits, Canada Pension Plan, the Work-Sharing program, Job Bank, and more.

Thursday, May 19
11 a.m. – noon

Register

Thursday, June 16
11 a.m. – noon

Register

Thursday, July 21
11 a.m. – noon

Register

Join Futurpreneur and the Business Development Bank of Canada for a presentation on financing opportunities for your small business.

Tuesday, October 25
2 – 3:30 p.m.

Learn the ropes of building an engaging and profitable social media presence for your business, from choosing the right social media platforms, to best practices for engagement, to growing your social media community using both organic and paid strategies.

Tuesday, June 7
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Tuesday, July 19
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Tuesday, August 30
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

 

Presented by Canada Revenue Agency, this presentation is geared toward small unincorporated businesses and will help participants understand their tax obligations and provide them with the resources needed to navigate the tax system.

Friday, June 10
9:30 a.m. – noon

Register

Friday, July 8
9:30 a.m. – noon

Register

Friday, August 12
9:30 a.m. – noon

Register

 

Presented by Canada Revenue Agency, this seminar is offered to owners of small corporations who need help in understanding their tax obligations. The presentation is geared towards incorporated businesses and will provide participants with the basic principles and resources needed to navigate the tax system.

Monday, July 11
9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Monday, September 12
9:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

 

Your customers are on the web. Having a strategy for your online presence allows you to market your small business online so customers can easily find you. Learn how to build the foundation for your business’s web presence.

Tuesday, May 24
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Tuesday July 5
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Tuesday, August 16
10 – 11:30 a.m.

Register

Learn from a Workplace Safety and Insurance Board consultant about how to keep your workplace healthy and safe, and in compliance with health and safety laws.

Wednesday, August 17
9:30 – 11 a.m.

Register

Wednesday, November 9 
9:30 – 11 a.m.

Register