The City of Toronto is the first Canadian city to be designated a UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) Creative City of Media Arts for its leadership in film, music, digital media and forms of cultural expression using technology. Through this designation the City aims to strengthen the role of creativity and culture in the lives of everyone in Toronto and to communicate its importance in sustainable urban development.

The Creative Cities of Media Arts work together to support cultural production and engagement, and to sharing inspiration, technological innovation and best practices.

UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network (UCCN) joins 350 member cities, with 22 of them across 5 continents holding the designation of UNESCO Creative Cities of Media Arts.

  • Cali, Colombia
  • Campina Grande, Brazil
  • Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Austin, USA
  • Dakar, Senegal
  • Braga, Portugal
  • York, United Kingdom
  • Modena, Italy
  • Enghien-les-Bains & Lyon, France
  • Namur, Belgium
  • Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Viborg, Denmark
  • Hamar, Norway
  • Linz, Austria
  • Košice, Slovakia
  • Tel-Aviv, Israel
  • Tbilisi, Georgia
  • Sapporo, Japan
  • Gwangju, South Korea
  • Changsha, China